Butterscotch Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
you can judge me if you want to for the 3 star rating, but i made the mistake of following other's suggestions rather than do the original. i used heath bits instead of butterscotch and reduced the brown sugar to 1.5 cups and it wasn't sweet enough for me. i had to make a vanilla sauce to go on top of it to save it. the thing that i didn't like about the heath was that they melted right in to the point where i couldn't taste them. if i get the urge to make this again, i will follow the directions, as written! -------------------------- REVIEW UPDATE! I had tons of sweet hawaiian rolls getting stale so I decided to make this again, but followed the recipe this time, mostly. :) (I subbed applesauce for half the butter) It was heavenly with RAVE reviews! But now I see why people reduced the sugar because butterscotch is a lot richer than heath bits. So for future, I will most likely reduce the brown sugar to 1.5 cups, do butterscotch chips, and continue to sub the butter with half applesauce. Oh and I DO NOT recommend using the hawaiian rolls because they get mushier than other breads.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Milia
Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2011
I made this to bring to a dinner party, and it was delicious! I threw in a half-bag of chocolate-toffee brickle (heath bar) just for fun. I served it with whipped cream and caramel sauce, which I think made it a little too sweet (and I have a serious sweet tooth!), so next time I'll serve just with whipped cream. Delicious!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 20, 2011
I used cinnamon raisin bread, 2% milk, 1/2 the brown sugar and added white chocolate chips. WONDERFUL! And I don't really like bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 19, 2011
Easy and Delicious, no changes necessary!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Despite the disturbing image of baking until it reaches 'thigh wiggle' consistency, this dessert is comfort food nirvana. I added chopped nuts, rum-soaked raisins and cinnamon and it was divine served warm with vanilla ice cream.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2011
I used 1 cup brown sugar and one cup white sugar and chocolate chips instead of butterscotch . It was enjoyed by all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
This was very good. I served it with the sauce from the Peachy Bread Pudding with Caramel Sauce recipe on this site and we really liked it. I halved the recipe, using 6 stale hamburger buns for the bread, 2 eggs and exactly 1/2 each of the other ingredients.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bellevue, Kentucky, USA
Living In: Frankfort, Kentucky, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
I quartered the recipe and baked it in a jello mold (I'm sorry to say that I didn't take note of the time, though it seems it was close to an hour) at 350. I'm glad that I added some cinnamon and nutmeg, as well as a pinch of salt, following others' advice. I wish I had gone a bit heavier, truthfully. The bread was pumpkin and it paired nicely with the butterscotch chips...wish I had gone heavier with those, too. For some reason the reduced recipe called for only 1/4 cup sugar rather than the correct 1/2 cup, not sugary enough for me but probably pleasant to someone with a less vigorous sweet tooth. I'll make this again, loosely, using the amounts for liquids but tweaking the rest to my own tastes. I will also be trying different flavoring extracts, like maple, orange, and banana with maybe some white chocolate and peanut butter. Nom nom.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
Can't wait to try this!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anne

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2011
My grandson and i made this together~!! I made it with the raisen bread and only made half the recipe. It makes alot. I also did the traditional sauce to go with it but believe me it is just as good without it. Also, my bunch doesnt even like rasins but they LOVED this dish....so did my pastor. Thanks for a great recipe Margaret
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Arcadia, Louisiana, USA
Living In: Tupelo, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 437) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States