Butterscotch Bread Pudding Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 18, 2013
What did I do wrong? I used wonderful ciabatta bread. I read the reviews about the quantity of sugar and chips so I halved them. The bottom of the pan was wet and bread mushy. The top of the pan was crusted bread. And the chips just sank into the wet mush. Not the least bit appealing to look at. However, the taste was delightful. Was it the type of bread? Should I have sprinkled the chips on the top? Should the pan be covered with foil while baking? I did cook it for longer than the one hour because it was so soggy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 17, 2013
I made this recipe as stated (except I made half). And it was really good, we even thought it was good reheated. Great recipe Margaret Burger.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 15, 2013
I use brioche buns and reduce the sugar. Also you could use redcurrant jam as a glaze.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 14, 2013
You can taste the calories in this (and it's worth every bite). If it wasn't so terribly unhealthy I'd make it every week. It's the perfect desert for a cold dreary day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by historygal22

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Springfield, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 2, 2013
I love bread pudding and order it whenever it is on the menu. This was good, but only good, not great. I will say the flavor improves on day 3. The first problem I have is that butterscotch chips taste very artificial, I was hoping it would not be noticeable when mixed in but I was wrong. I followed the advice of so many others and reduced the sugar, bad move. I used 1.5 cups and it was not really sweet enough, but I am from the south and we like things sweet. I baked in two smaller pans and it baked in about 50 min. For the sauce I used my mom's standby of evap milk, sugar, and vanilla, with just a pinch of corn starch. On day one without the sauce I would have given it 2 stars, on day 3 and with adding sauce it is a 3.5. I am still searching for the 5 star bread pudding recipe. I will try it again with the full 2 cups of sugar and sub in choc chips.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2013
Very good with a little rum or rum extract added
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2013
Super easy. Could use just a little somethin else! Maybe raisins or sliced apples...??? Yummy!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jsiever

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Billings, Montana, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: May 13, 2013
yum! This was really tasty. I did use a little less sugar, but it turned out great. I am a sucker for butterscotch :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2013
Delicious!!! Must try this recipe. I only used 2 1/2 cups of brown sugar & as per another user, i used 2 cups whipping cream and 2 cups milk - yum yum!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Akhaloo

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2013
Great recipe. I only used 1/4 cup of butterscotch chips because I didn't want it too sweet. Even so, may reduce the brown sugar by 1/4 cup and eliminate the butterscotch chips altogether. I used a tin of evaporated milk (2 cups) and then 2 cups of whole milk. The consistency was great. I divided the mixture in half and baked in 8 in square pans. I only baked one for about 30 minutes and the other for 45 minutes. I actually preferred the one baked for 30 mins because it was moister but my son liked the one baked longer. Either way, this is a great recipe and is now my go-to recipe for bread pudding.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 432) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Best Bread Pudding with Vanilla Sauce

A sensational, old family recipe for rich and delicious bread pudding.

Raisin Bread Pudding

Save room for apple and raisin bread pudding. See how easy it is to make.

Bread Pudding II

Make this 5-star bread pudding for dessert or breakfast.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States