Butterscotch Blondies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2006
This recipe is very versatile! You can use virtually any cake mix you like. You can also use different nuts and chips. I used walnuts and peanut butter chips because that's what I had in the pantry. I also only had a half of a can of sweetened condensed milk, which worked perfectly. These were devoured by my nieces and nephews at a birthday party - they even unintentionally outshined the birthday cake! Two suggestions: line your pan with parchment paper so the bars will come out easily, and do not overbake! Crusts on these types of bars burn quickly.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
42 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane S
Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2006
very rich! but extremely easy, no mess and no fuss. I used a butter recipe yellow cake mix, and melted the butter to go into the crust. Paula Dean makes a similar crust for her "gooey toffee bars" from her show and she melts hers. Very easy to pat the dough into the pan, with the butter melted it doesn't stick to your fingers. I didn't have pecans so used 1 cup of the scotch chips and 1 cup chocolate chips. I used the same bowl (without washing) to make the condensed milk topping. They taste somewhat like a butterscotch brownie but are much richer. The 9x13 pan was perfect and sprayed with Pam. It didn't stick to the bottom. A word of caution as with any other recipe that includes condensed milk, don't overcook as the sides will be hard. This baked in my oven for 27 minutes. This is a very fast easy dessert and would be nice for bake sales, parties, or any other time one would want a fast simple dessert but with the richness. The possibilities are endless here as far as modifications. Any flavor cake mix and chip/nut combo would work. (spice mix with cinnamon chips, chocolate mix with white chocolate chips...etc.) They cut into nice squares once cooled.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
30 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TUNISIANSWIFE

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: King Ferry, New York, USA
Living In: Cincinnati, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
this is by fat my most favorite dessert recipe... I am not a fan of sweets, but i LOVE these. Made them for thanksgiving, they were loved and enjoyed so much, i got asked again for xmas, than new years, and now this coming easter. Followed directions EXACTLY, no substitutions no additions. WONDERFUL.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Graham Fam

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Tucson, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2006
Followed recipe as written, except for adding 1/2 c milk chocolate chips, and we could not wait til they were cool to try them. Very sweet, extremely rich, and my oh my are they good! Large glass of milk recommended!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
9 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Millboro, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2007
YUMMY!! They were a huge hit with my fam. I reduced cooking time by almost ten minutes. I think they would have been over done otherwise.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by V.

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Lancaster, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Santa Cruz, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2010
Really good. I user a butter flavored yellow cake mix and omitted the nuts since I didn't have any. So chewy and delicious. I bet it's even better with the pecans. Will definately make these again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Taunton, Massachusetts, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2007
Good but very sweet. Make sure to use the right size pan otherwise they are too thick and don't cook all the way thru.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PESTEE40

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2012
Yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Good. Emily loved it - too sweet for Neilan
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Edgar, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sterling, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2011
Wow, we loved these and so easy. I made them exactly as written and baked them as indicated with no problems. They came out of the pan very easily. I will definitely make them again. They are very sweet but for us, that is not an issue.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 48) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Eagle Brand® Chocolate Truffles

See how to make these delicious, decadent sweet treats.

Easy Homemade Ice Cream

Cool off with quick-and-easy homemade ice cream—no ice cream maker required!

Zucchini Brownies

Moist fudgy brownies with a secret squash surprise.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States