Butterscotch Biscotti Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2013
Batter too runny. Added flour till I got the texture of other biscotti that I make. Turned out very well with this change of recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 17, 2009
i found dough to be way to soft and gooey. would not form at all. NOT recommed this to anyone unless perfected. Wasted all the $ on ingedients
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SPEARL20
Reviewed: Sep. 24, 2008
To be honest, I changed a lot of this recipe, but since they put my picture of it up, I feel like i ought to review it. I'll give it four stars based upon how I made it. I did not use whiskey. I did not use four eggs--only three. No almonds, but I put in about 1 c. of chopped butterscotch chips. The biscotti spread out quite a bit, but not so much that it fell apart.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPEARL20

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2006
I too found the dough very liquidy and hard to form into loaves. But I formed it the best I could, they didn't spread much at all once in the oven (as I feared) After letting them cool for a couple hours I sliced them w/ a very sharp serrated knife, and baked the second time with no problems. I took them to a scrapbooking party and they recieved rave reviews! I will definatelly make these again! I also subbed Caramel Temptations liquor for the alcohol in the recipe- yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2006
I've made biscotti before and this was by far the easier recipe. I followed the other person's suggestion to use rum and to let the batter sit in the fridge for a few minutes before shaping the loafs. I also put a layer of wax paper on the bottom of my cookie sheet and I think this made a big difference. The only thing I didn't like was that the cookies seemed a little stale by the next 24 hours and I had them in a tightly sealed container. Next time I'll just make these right before the party and not the night before. My party guests loved them!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Thomson, Georgia, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2005
A very different texture from most biscotti. It has almost a shortbread feel to it. I used rum instead of whiskey. I cut back on the sugar just a bit. Butterscotch chips tend to make things too sweet. Used 2 eggs on the advise of others. I let the dough set in the fridg and had no trouble shaping into logs. I also allowed the logs to cool compleatly before slicing and had no problems. I will make these again because they add a nice variety to a gift platter.I may use 1-2 tsp of rum extract and omit the booze and will chop the butterscotch chips next time to avoid the intense sweet taste. You can stand your cookies upright for the second baking and cut the cooking time in half. This also eliminates any chance of breakage on the turn.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2004
One of the first Biscotti's I made and it was a big hit, very easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 12, 2002
The dough was way too liquidy to make into a loaf - and it spread out so much in the oven. Once I tried to cut it into slices, it just came apart. And though I cooked them almost twice as long as the recipe called for, it never got harder than cakelike - definitely not crispy like biscotti should be.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2001
This recipe sounded so delicious, but it was so sticky and I found it very hard to make into loaves, also I'm wondering if the bourbon wasnt too much liquid. After they baked, cooled and baked again, half of my batch fell apart and crumbled. I'm not sure if I didnt follow something right or not but I wonder how the person who made this recipe did when she tried it out.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog



 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

No-Fuss Party Food
No-Fuss Party Food

Easy recipes for summer get-togethers.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Homemade Chocolate-Hazelnut Biscotti

What's cooking in Delaware, Ohio? Jessica's delicious homemade biscotti.

Cranberry Pistachio Biscotti

Authentic Italian biscotti with distinct, surprising flavors.

Biscotti

Watch how to make to make this top-rated Italian cookie recipe.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States