Butterscotch Bars II Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 15, 2001
A good, sweet dessert that's easy to make and great for potlucks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 26, 2012
Made for PES employee meeting - were a big hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 29, 2004
I just finished baking this, and although my oven itself gave me some trouble (the thermostat in it is unreliable, so that you never know what temperature you're REALLY setting it to), I give it a 4 stars rating. It's GOOD, tasty, soft and chewy, but I wasn't able to achieve the promised "crunchy on the outside" texture. This probably is a fault of the oven, though, as the top bubbled and burned a little. This was just what I was looking for because I wanted simple, easy, and without nuts! You HAVE to let it cool to get the promised results.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JAGUWAR

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sherbrooke, Quebec, Canada
Living In: Athens, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 20, 2014
I increased the flour to almost 2 cups until the consistency was more like it should be...I increased the oven temp to 350 and I increased the time almost double until a knife in the center came out clean....it is delicious and almost like a brownie...I will cut them small and put on holiday dishes for friends. This worked beautifully for me...I hope this helps some who were having trouble..definitely not enough flour in the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2002
I think I did something wrong when making this recipe. The batter was really runny, and when it came out of the oven, it was the consistency of butterscotch pudding. It was still really tasty, though. :-) I scaled the recipe down, so maybe something got lost in the translation. I don't know. I might try making it again with the recipe as is, because the taste of the batter was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SPELTRONG

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
Same thing happened to me. The outsides were yummy, but the insides were undercooked and mushy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2002
I don't know what happened on this recipe. I followed the directions exactly and I ended up having to cook it 45 minutes longer than what the recipe said. It still was not quite done after all that time. I wish it would have turned out because the outer edges(that were cooked but hard as a rock) tasted very good. I might try it again and increase the temp. of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2002
This didn't turn out for me either. Even with 10 minutes more for baking, the filling was the consistency of a pie filling and the bars had to be eaten with a fork. The outside edges of the pan were nice and chewy. Won't make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Eden Prairie, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2009
These sure aren't as good as the Butterscotch Cookie Bar recipe found on this site. Everyone loves those!!! Don't share them though because you won't be able to meet all the demand for more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 8, 2003
This recipe was terrible. I wonder if the creator even tried it before they posted it. The mixture was very runny. I added and xtra cup of flour, and it was still too runny. I baked it for over an hour more than the baking time and it still wasn't all the way cooked. Flavor was good, but a terrible recipe. Will never make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 15) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Marshmallow Crispie Bars

See how to make super-easy, soft, and gooey marshmallow bars.

Paul's Pumpkin Bars

These moist, cinnamony pumpkin bars have a rich cream cheese frosting.

Blueberry Crumb Bars

See how to make simple, scrumptious blueberry bar cookies.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States