Butterscotch Apple Dumplings Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 23, 2012
Im getting ready for apple season and after looking at all the dumpling recipies..chose thos one. From scratch! too many others have the Shortened crescent roll etc ... which is ok sometimes but was looking for a more old fashioned recipie this time. Ill come back to rate in mid Sept! but for now Im giving this a 5 with high expectations! Thanks Update 09/10/12: Baked these after apple picking and YUMM!!! Adding this as an annual tradition!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
I tried this recipe and loved it! I couldn't believe how fluffy the pastry became. It was light and moist. Add a scoop of vanilla ice cream when serving...it's delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSECHASER62

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 9, 2011
Made this last night for my hubby who is a LOVER of apple pie and scaled it down to use 2 apples. Hubby loved it, the dish just took FOREVER in the oven (it seemed) to make the apples soft enough to his liking... haha. I didn't peel them either, next time I will peel the apples. DH loved the sauce it made the most. Very yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by babysmyles

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2011
Never had apple dumplings before so I don't know if these were good or bad. I enjoyed them but won't make them again. But it may just be that I'm not an apple dumpling fan.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Professional

Home Town: Toledo, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2011
I made the dumplings spaced out to make the look more decorative. It worked but they spread out and became quite the filling desert. I had these warm with ice-cream as a desert and then again the next morning, cold, as a breakfast. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2010
These are the best! My mom and I have been using this recipe for years and get rave reviews every time we take them somewhere. The only change I make is using store-bought pie crust.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Hendricks, West Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Fantastic! No major changes. I quartered the apples instead of halving - much better serving size. I put 1-2 teaspoons of the sugar-cinammon-nutmeg mixture into each smaller dumpling. While I had a lot of the sugar mixture left over, I thought it came out perfectly. Sweet, but not too sweet. Also, I forgot them in the oven. They may have been in an extra 20-40 minutes. Well browned, but delicious. I used Winesap apples - a rather tart apple. I brought it to the neighborhood cook out and they disappeared like hot cakes! The doughy part was wonderful.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Falls Church, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 11, 2010
You don't need the butterscotch topping for this to be good. The crust came out excellent, and I used whole wheat pastry flour.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Amanda from MA CT NJ

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Wilbraham, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Stamford, Connecticut, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
Mmmmm this is so good! At first I thought it was going to be kind of difficult and time-consuming, but really once the apples are peeled and halved the rest just flies by. The brown sugar sauce doesn't taste exactly like butterscotch but it's still very good and it really compliments the apple taste. Also as an added bonus, my kitchen smells fantastic after baking this. I am going to serve these to my family tomorrow and I'll bet they're going to love them. Thank you Carol for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2007
really wonderful. I like how you do 1/2 an apple per dumpling, its a much more appropriate size, but still big!! this is absolutely to die for warm with vanilla ice cream. the butterscotch sauce is so flavorful, it's addicting.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MLALAK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dublin, Ohio, USA
Living In: Berea, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 20) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Country Apple Dumplings

See the easy way to make homemade apple dumplings.

How to Make Apple Tarte Tatin

See how to make a simple and amazing apple tarte.

Apple Hand Pies

See how to make perfect apple turnovers.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States