Butterscotch Apple Cookies Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2012
Just made these and they are delicious! I'm not a big apple person, but decided to try these for my cookie pot-luck at work tomorrow-(plus my daughter had went apple picking so I had a bag). I wanted something fall-ish. I did alternate the cookie to 1 cup grated apple (about 2 apples),no apple juice, I also dropped the sugar to 1 cup per previous suggestions, and b/c I don't like things overly sweet I only put in about 3/4 cup of butterscotch chips that I had chopped up into smaller pieces, but I upped the walnuts to about 1 cup to help the texture. The only other thing was I added 1 tsp of pumpkin spice & 1 tsp of cinnamon...The texture, taste, smell are superb! It's still a little on the sweet side for me, but they are nice & crunchy & sweet. Oh..I didn't bother with the glaze and i just dropped by rounded tsp. This made about 39 cookies (probably 40 but I ate one in dough) Can't wait to see how they hold up tomorrow for work... This is a GREAT fall recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Good cookies. A bit different, as other reviewers have said. It's a big recipe too - expect about 40-50 normal sized cookies. A few additions and corrections - yes, use less brown sugar (1 cup). I also suggest less butterscotch chips in the recipe (1 cup). I upped the apple (to 1 cup), and cut the apple juice in half (1/3 cup).
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Abrux

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 11, 2011
i read over the reviews first... made the mistake of listening to the ones that said to cut down the butter scotch chips. definitely would have preferred both cups. also, omitted the juice as the 3 small/medium apples i grated were relatively juicy. overall, if these were crunchy - it would have been a 5 star recipe. instead it just tasted like individual piece of apple cake. good flavor though. simple enough. if you're looking to bake some cookies and dont want to do easy choc chip or snickerdoodle or oatmeal raisin.. this is a nice one to throw into the rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by NYSMILEZ

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Brooklyn, New York, USA
Photo by Jen McB
Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2010
Soooo good. I followed the recipe exactly as is and it was super good. Moist and flavorful cookies. The cookies themselves weren't too sweet, but the glaze is what put them over the top. I made a batch with and without glaze to take them to a party, so those with less of a sweet tooth could choose between the two. They seemed to be a hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen McB

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA
Living In: Temecula, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2010
They cookie are nice because they're not too sweet. You can really taste the apple in the cookie, but once you put the frosting on top, there really isn't an apple flavor at all. Next time I'm going to make 50/50.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
The glaze was messy but well worth it! Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2010
Absolutely FABULOUS! You will not have leftovers after making these. They are crazy sweet but that's what makes them so delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by luvz2cook

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2009
Excellent cookies. I am an avid baker and so I naturally made a few adjustments. I've seen a lot of complaints about not being able to taste the apple and/or too much liquid. Instead of grating the apples, I decided to dice them. It left more of the liquid in the apple and gave you a taste and texture of baked apple in every bite. I also left out the walnuts (personal preference) and drizzled the icing on instead of spreading. Delicious!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by JARRIE
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This is a good cookie. However, the chunks of apple remain gooey even after cooking, which means this cookie won't keep long before getting...oozey. (Not sure that's a word...) You will be tempted to add more flour to the dough--it isn't necessary to do so. I resisted the urge to add oats or more flour to the dough, and it wound up working out fine. All in all, I'd probably use my apples in other desserts in the future, but I'm glad I tried these :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JARRIE

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2009
I followed the advice of some of the reviewers and used only 1 cup butterscotch chips and 1 cup sugar. I also made sure to squeeze the apple juice out of the grated apple and made it part of the total apple juice measurement. I used 1 cup total shredded apples. I initially thought these cookies were delicious coming out of the oven warm but once they cooled, I didn't think they had a whole lot of flavor. If you got one with a lot of chips then it was more flavorful. I decided to add my own frosting to the tops of the cooled cookies both to pretty them up but to also add some sweetness. I combined confectioners sugar, a small amount of apple juice and cinnamon and whipped it until smooth. I then drizzled it over the cookies in random directions. It was pretty tasty and definitely sweetened the cookies up a bit but overall, the cookies were just okay. Not sure if I would make them again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 47) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Chocolate Cranberry Oatmeal Cookies

Bake delicious oatmeal cookies with white chocolate chips and cranberries.

Apple Squares

Apples, nuts, and cinnamon make an amazing dessert or breakfast treat.

Easy Apple Crisp

An easy apple crisp made with white cake mix, cinnamon, and butter.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States