Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
Wow, this was great. I was craving a soup like the Butternut Squash soup at Bruegger's Bagels. I think this outdoes theirs. I admit I did make a few changes/additions. I used a sweet potato for the regular potato, apple cider for the wine and added a dash of ginger and cumin. Oh, and I used a Honeycrisp apple (very similar to Granny Smith but not quite as tart) instead of the Granny Smith. I will definitely be making this one again. A tip for handling the butternut squash-microwave whole for a few minutes, let cool then cut in quarters, seed, peel and cube.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
184 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockland, Ohio, USA
Living In: Goodlettsville, Tennessee, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2008
I made this soup, leaving out the cream & using a hand-held blender. It was awesome! I made another recipe the next week & was so dissapointed that I had to find this again & write a review. The apple & carrots are the key to making this soup tasty and hearty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
67 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by DreamSnatcher

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chewelah, Washington, USA
Living In: Palmer, Alaska, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marty
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Great base - experiment with spices how you like. Can substitute apple cider vinegar for wine. Cinnamon is a great fit, with the apples & the squash.. as are nutmeg and ground cloves. Tastes better after a few days. I make ahead and freeze in jars to take to work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
50 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Perfect soup! A balance of tangy and mellow, sweet and savory , comforting, fresh, and wholesome. The only changes I made were to add a little celery that needed to be used, used heavy cream because that's what I've got, and to leave a little texture when I pureed it.. Garnished with beaten heavy cream and chives. Perfect, perfect, perfect. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was delicious, though I did not follow the recipe to a T. I was hoping to not add the cream (lactose intolerant) so I tried it before adding--delicious without it! This was a family hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
32 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
We loved this soup. I followed the suggestion of using a sweet potato rather than white potato and liked that idea. Lazy me also used vegetable bouillon powder to make the stock. And I omitted the cream and didn't miss it. Will definitely add this to our list of favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
31 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Love this soup. I've made it several times in the last few weeks. I used canned pumpkin in place of the squash to save on some time. I also never ever have leeks on hand so I used regular onions. Used butter substitute and fat free half and half. No need for the extra fat. This soup does not need it. I've also given it a few shakes of sage,thyme,rosemary and black pepper in addition to the nutmeg. Awesome soup. Just made it again tonight and added about 1 tspn of chopped fresh ginger just to give it some kick. It was super. Topped it with fat free sour cream and some homemade croutons (recipe from this site) Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Photo by Cookies
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2008
Excellent soup! Very quick and easy to put together. I pureed mine smooth (no chunks, kids will pick them out) and it's so comforting and filling! I didn't add the optional wine. THX
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Cookies
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Mmmmm, this soup is good! I made the recipe pretty much as directed. The only changes were that I used roasted butternut squash I had made the day before, and I added @ 2 tsp of light brown sugar. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillie64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2008
So good. Didn't add the wine though, just added more stock. Next time i may try adding apple juice to substitute the wine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
14 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isa
Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

Displaying results 1-10 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States