Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2011
Everyone loved this soup. It's flavorful, creamy and wasn't all that difficult to make. I added a bit more squash, and a bit less carrot ... and it was yummy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2011
everyone in my family loved this from my toddler to my grandpa. thanks for an excellent recipe! i only didn't add the leeks, as i didn't have any on hand.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2011
This is an awesome recipe! My husband surprised me with dinner one night and I fell in love with the soup. He even made it for a soup sale that we do at work to benefit Making Strides Against Breast Cancer. Big hit!! Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2011
I didn't have leeks so I used green onions. Didn't have wine and didn't miss it. And only had HEAVY cream. That's probably what made it so good haha. Very filling. Delicious :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2011
This is fantastic. The apple adds just the right amount of sweetness and zing. I even simplified the recipe and it still came out great. Instead of stock I simply used two cups of salted water. I also left out the leek, as we had none, and didn't add the cream or wine. I also varied the spicing a bit. I used one quarter teaspoon nutmed, a quarter teaspoon cinnamon, and a quarter teaspon sage. It was soooo good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Anelie

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 19, 2011
really healthy and very tasty! I used organic vegetable broth, and as i didn't have any dry white (very unusual!) i used organic apple juice and in place of cream used fat free milk - as that is what i use. Deeeelicious:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 16, 2011
Fantastic recipe! But I'm not a huge fan of nutmeg, so I substituted with cinnamon and I wasn't sure how it would turn out. It worked great! Definitely a keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 2, 2011
Very good! I used a sweet potato instead of a regular potato, and cider vinegar instead of the wine, as I never have any wine. Also, I used skim milk instead of cream to lower the fat, and didn't miss the cream at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jennifer Gingerich

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 22, 2011
We really enjoyed this soup. I've tried other butternut squash soup recipes before and have never been happy with them. I'll hang on to this one for sure but I'm only giving it 4 stars because of the changes I made. I left out the leeks because I didn't have them on hand. I used and entire small squash which turned out to be 3+ cups. I used a Fuji apple because it's what I had. I used a tablespoon or so of apple cider vinegar in place of the wine (per other reviewers recommendation). I added just a dash of nutmeg and several dashes of cinnamon along with a pinch of cayenne pepper for a little dimension. Then the major change I made was LEAVE OUT THE CREAM! I'm sure it's very tasty with it. But I'm trying to eliminate some post-baby fat and this soup does NOT need the extra fat if it suits you to leave it out. It's delicious without it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by junglepilotwife

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: Tempe, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 7, 2011
Very tasty!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States