Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
It was ok. Not sure if I'd make this again. Missing something...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krayzie4him

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I've had this in my recipe box for ages and now can't believe I've waited so long to try it. As there's a vegetarian in the family I used vegetable stock instead of chicken. I thought I had cream but didn't so used milk instead. I used my immersion blender to puree and left it slightly chunky. Thankyou for a great recipe Cynjne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes
Home Town: St Austell, Cornwall, England, U.K.
Living In: Plymouth, Devon, England, U.K.
Photo by larkspur
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2009
This is an amazing soup! I used a sweet potato instead of a regular potato; this gave it a prettier color as well as more flavor. My leeks were huge, so I only used one. I used a golden delicious apple instead of a granny smith, because that is what I had on hand. Instead of light cream and wine, I used milk mixed with a little water, so that it wouldn't be quite as rich. It was awesome! I will be making this one again...thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by larkspur

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Wauwatosa, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2009
Great "curb appeal" but not much flavor. I added a bit of ginger and cinnamon and it went over well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2009
Good consistency and the smell is wonderful but the flavor is bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2009
this soup was good and cremy. It is a little more work than most squash soups, and one of my daughters liked it less than the usual, while another said it was just the same. Not sure that the extra effort in peelong and chopping is worth it. However, it was an interesting experiment. thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by susiekew

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Hamilton, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I loved this soup! I wanted an easy recipe, and this is definitly it. Loved the combo of flavors. I had to make a few changes, as I wasn't able to get leeks, and didn't have any chicken stock. I substituted vegetable broth, and used dry sherry for the wine. I also seasoned it with a teaspoon of sweet curry powder. I'll definitly make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndrnsandi1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This recipe was labor intensive, but on a cold, rainy, fall day it was a labor of love to feed to my family. None of us had EVER had butternut squash, so it was a delicious way of introduction. I followed a reviewer suggestion and roasted the butternut squash first and had to stop myself from eating it all out of the pan by itself! Thanks for the recipe and the reviews as well:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is OK, but I have other squash soup recipes--with fewer ingredients--that I like better. Even though I roasted the squash, the other flavors overwhelmed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Delicious!!! I used slightly more squash. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 204) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States