Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 14)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
I loved this soup! I wanted an easy recipe, and this is definitly it. Loved the combo of flavors. I had to make a few changes, as I wasn't able to get leeks, and didn't have any chicken stock. I substituted vegetable broth, and used dry sherry for the wine. I also seasoned it with a teaspoon of sweet curry powder. I'll definitly make this again!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lndrnsandi1965

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: New Orleans, Louisiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2009
This recipe was labor intensive, but on a cold, rainy, fall day it was a labor of love to feed to my family. None of us had EVER had butternut squash, so it was a delicious way of introduction. I followed a reviewer suggestion and roasted the butternut squash first and had to stop myself from eating it all out of the pan by itself! Thanks for the recipe and the reviews as well:)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Diane J.

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Northlake, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
This is OK, but I have other squash soup recipes--with fewer ingredients--that I like better. Even though I roasted the squash, the other flavors overwhelmed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Delicious!!! I used slightly more squash. Will make this often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
The taste of the butternut squash was overpowered by the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2009
MMMMMMMMM good, I made this on one of our first cold days of fall, was a great pick! First time baking with butternut squash, hubby loved it. Used the sweet potato and did'nt have any wine on hand but turned out great!! Thank you for this recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JEN

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Calgary, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2009
I used a sweet potato. The soup is a little too sweet in my opinion, and i might go with a regular potato if i made it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2009
I received nothing but praise on this recipe! Everybody loved it and I found that it was easy to make. The hardest part was cutting up the squash since it is so hard, but nothing I couldn't handle. I will definately make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mchenry, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
Excellent. Definitely a keeper. I followed the recipe to the letter, and it turned out beautifully. I swirled some heavy cream into the top of each bowl prior to sprinkling fresh chives for a lovely presentation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sudbury, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2009
I left out the wine and switch the potato for a sweet potato and the chicken stock for veggie stock - it was super super good! We ate this all winter and I can't wait for the cooler weather to start making it again! Definitely my FAVORITE recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 131-140 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States