Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Fabulous soup! I have never had much success with pureed soups, however this recipe was easy to follow and absolutely delicious! I admit I will add a wee bit of brown sugar next time just to add a bit more sweetness, but overall this is an absolutely delicious recipe! Thanks so much for helping me find a use for those root vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very traditional tasting soup with all the flavors of fall! I did a few things different though. I used both a baking potato and a sweet potato. I also used veggie broth and not chicken. I increased the squash by about 3/4 cup as well. I got a large squash, which was WAY too much. I would reccomend (unless you want left over squash) to pick the smallest squash you can find! I cooked it all and froze half of it. Even using the half squash, there was still more than called for in this recipe, so I added more to it. I think this ended up being a good thing as it made the soup thicker. Even this made a very large pot of soup. I ended up freezing half of the soup as well, which thawed and heated tasted just as good as the first time! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandanicole82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
OMG! Made this last night! DELISH!!! You won't be disappointed! I bought two butternut squashes as I was not sure how much I was going to get out of just 1 squash. But you only need to buy one for this recipe. However, it won't go to waste, I am going to make another batch this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
We didn't care for this soup. Runny with no flavor. Maybe I did something wrong, but I will definitely not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okoboji, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2010
Excellent! Rated it 4 stars because I had another version at O'connors Restaurant in Worcester, MA that is 5+ stars (sweeter for some reason). Will make again! I omitted the white wine and cream. Still great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela's

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2010
delishhhh! big hit with the family!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 23, 2010
I really liked it. I made some minor adjustments.. added a tiny bit of cinnamon, a parsnip and left out the cream. I will definitely make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 22, 2010
WOW, I NEVER SAW MY HUSBAND SO CRAZY OVER ANY SOUP IN THE PAST. THIS WAS A NICE, LITE AND FLAVORFUL SOUP. I FOLLOWED IT EXACTLY. THANKS NICE FOR FALL
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CHEYENNE
Reviewed: Jan. 18, 2010
Instead of using butter to saute the vegetables I used vegetable oil. What I like about this soup is that even if you don't have all the ingredients it comes out great. I did not have on hand, the leeks and the cream so I left those out. Once the veggies have cooked I do like cooling the soup before pureeing using my stick mixer. Use the pulsing motion to avoid splattering. Once the soup was pureed, I did add 1 cup apple cider. Using ready cut up butternut squash from the store saves a lot of time and energy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Aura Main

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 15, 2010
Excellent Recipe. However i did modify it. I had no leak or chives so omitted these. i used yellow Yukon Gold potatoes. i had no dry white wine so instead I put 1.5 Tspn of mirin (japanese rice wine) which made it more healthy, i wanted this dairy free so i omitted the cream and sour cream. i did not feel like using pepper and i seasoned with a pinch of sea salt once the soup first came to a boil so the salt was cooked in and released more of the natural sugars in the veggies (also seasoning first makes salt more digestable and better for your intestines). my kids had two servings they loved it so much . We decided to be even more healthier and not eat bread with it. It was more than satisfying on its own! i have been trying healthier buttnernut soup recipes and haven't been happier until i found this one and modified it. i should just repost it as a new recipe LOL. YUM!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 205) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States