Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2007
Mmmmm, this soup is good! I made the recipe pretty much as directed. The only changes were that I used roasted butternut squash I had made the day before, and I added @ 2 tsp of light brown sugar. I will definitely be making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
17 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jillie64

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2008
This is one of the best tasting soups I've ever made - I wish I could give it 6 stars!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2008
We loved this soup. I followed the suggestion of using a sweet potato rather than white potato and liked that idea. Lazy me also used vegetable bouillon powder to make the stock. And I omitted the cream and didn't miss it. Will definitely add this to our list of favorite soups.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
34 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marty
Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2008
Great base - experiment with spices how you like. Can substitute apple cider vinegar for wine. Cinnamon is a great fit, with the apples & the squash.. as are nutmeg and ground cloves. Tastes better after a few days. I make ahead and freeze in jars to take to work :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
56 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Marty

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Toronto, Ontario, Canada
Living In: Georgetown, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 5, 2008
This is absolutely delicious. I have made it several times for parties and everyone loves it. The dry white wine is a must to balance the flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 26, 2008
I really liked this blend of flavours - the apple was a nice touch!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Edmonton, Alberta, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 31, 2008
LOVED it! Have made this soup several times and it has turned out wonderfully with each batch. This is a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Montreal, Quebec, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by SunnyByrd
Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2008
Perfect soup! A balance of tangy and mellow, sweet and savory , comforting, fresh, and wholesome. The only changes I made were to add a little celery that needed to be used, used heavy cream because that's what I've got, and to leave a little texture when I pureed it.. Garnished with beaten heavy cream and chives. Perfect, perfect, perfect. THANKS!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
37 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by SunnyByrd
Living In: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 14, 2008
This recipe was great! My husband even liked it and he is not a big soup fan. I thought I had bought a Granny Smith apple but it never made it home. I used a Gala apple instead as that was what I had on hand. I still think it turned out awesome. Not sure what difference the GS apple would have made. I will defiantly make this soup again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
11 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Chandler, Arizona, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 22, 2008
This was delicious, though I did not follow the recipe to a T. I was hoping to not add the cream (lactose intolerant) so I tried it before adding--delicious without it! This was a family hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
33 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 200) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Dinner in the Fast Lane
Dinner in the Fast Lane

Get quick & easy recipes for your busiest days.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States