Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Nov. 15, 2011
I don't care for chives, so I didn't put them on top and I think it needs something to add flavor to the soup. I did freeze half, so when I thaw it, I'm going to top it with green onions and chili&lime pumpkin seeds. I think it would add a lot of flavor to (kind of) a bland soup. Overall, I do think it's worth your time to make it, I would just add something with a little bit of kick (to your liking). Thanks for sharing this recipe. It's a nice base.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by 3pickyeaters

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2011
This is an outstanding recipe! It's easy and delicious -- even without the cream. I made it as written, but on the second time around, I omitted the cream. Either way, it's a winner in my house. Thanks so much for sharing it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
Just loved he soup made with this recipe. --Even with leaving out the half & half & wine. It's the best I've tried so far. And I've tried quite a few. I look forward to growing more butternut squash next year so I can use this recipe. Maybe I'll even try growing the leeks too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Woodridge, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 11, 2011
This soup is awesome! I made some adjustments, mainly because it's what I had on hand. I did not have leeks so I used some extra onion. I used gala apples (what I had). I didn't add the white wine. I also chose to leave the skin on the potato and apples and to skip the cream to make it a bit healthier. Once you blend the soup, the skins just get nicely mixed in! The soup smells heavenly while it's cooking and makes a great fall meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2011
I have made this twice already in two weeks. The first time I made it I didn't have leeks or wine but it was so good! The second time I used leeks but no onion or wine and a little extra nutmeg. That was even better. I added a little bit of ginger both times.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Living In: Miami, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
SOO deLISH! followed to a T - it was amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Vanessa

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2011
I've made this twice. Once exactly as is. A second time with a touch of fresh cilantro and some chipotle flakes. Both times, excellent!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
We did not like this very much at all. I even used a small potato, and that's all we could taste. There was nothing good about this recipe. We were very excited to try it, but were let down.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2011
This soup is not worth the effort. There are too many ingredients and the flavors end up muddled and bland. One review recommended substituting apple cider vinegar for the wine - do NOT do this. The vinegar flavor takes over the soup. I was so disappointed when I tasted this soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2011
So rich it could pass for dessert! Made a few changes, notably switching out the cream for vanilla almond milk. Used two sweet potatoes instead of a white potato. Doubled the apples and left out the carrots (only because we were out.) Used apple cider in place of white wine. Also added spices to taste including cumin, nutmeg, cinnamon, and allspice. Served with hot bread out of the oven.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Mexican Food Fiesta
Mexican Food Fiesta

Go mild or go wild with Cinco de Mayo Recipes!

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States