Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Mar. 3, 2013
It smelled wonderful. The flavor was not to my liking. Definitely would not recommend this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Cheyenne, Wyoming, USA
Living In: Laramie, Wyoming, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2013
amazing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 30, 2013
I adored this recipe. It was a fantastic way to use up some huge butternut squashes we had. Even my husband who isn't a huge fan of butternut liked it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 11, 2013
Fabulous! I made this for 1 person, adding 1/2 an apple instead of a 1/4. I'm not a fan of soup but this was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Gloucester, Gloucestershire, England, U.K.

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by kingstonmassive
Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2013
Great soup! I added some cooked spicy chorizo at the end to add a little more spice. Also, added a little cilantro at the end and topped with diced Crimini mushrooms and a dollup of sour cream. Delicious!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by MMMICHELLE
Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2013
This recipe was nice, but I feel like it needed a little extra "something" to give it a kick; maybe some chorizo or other spicy sausage next time to add flavor and round out the meal with protein. My family liked the flavor blend of all the ingredients, but I think next time I will incorporate the advice of a fellow reviewer and substitute a sweet potato for the regular potato. I used a spiced white wine, but still didn't feel like it was enough spice...add some ginger next time, too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 30, 2012
I have made this a number of times but have modified it to my own taste. I always roast the squash. I think it imparts a smokiness to the finished product. I add a generous pour of Sherry, 2-3 tbls of ginger paste or minced if I have it, mild or yellow curry to taste but..not enough to over power, but to punch it up. I have also used apple sauce when I was out of apples. I use heavy cream..(its a luxurious soup and we don't eat it more than once or twice a year). I use an emulsion blender and finish it off with another splash of Sherry, a dollop of plain Greek yogurt, a sprinle of nutmeg and a pinch of minced chives.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Las Vegas, Nevada, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2012
Loved this recipe! Easy to make and tasted so good! Would definitely make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Keely Fahoum

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 23, 2012
I made this recipe pretty much as described. I used a whole butternut which was about 4 cups. I garnished with little bits bacon. Next time I will roast the veggies as that sounds like it will develop more flavor. I will try vinegar instead of wine because it needed a little more acid. I will also try adding a bit of cayenne. This was a very nice meal with fresh homemade bread.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2012
Make this every fall and it is so flavorful!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Oklahoma City, Oklahoma, USA
Living In: Dallas, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States