Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Excellant soup for fall. We used sweet potatoes instead and dropped the white wine. Enjoyed by all...even folks that like butternut squash, but had not had the soup yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Quite delicious, even without the cream. The amount of squash called for didn't seem like enough, but I trusted the recipe and it was fine. The wine I used was too sweet I think, so make sure it really is dry if you use it, which I don't think you need to, really. Definitely a fall hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
A delicious fall soup! I added cloves, ginger and cinnamon (1/2 tsp each) to enhance the the apple flavour. My husband isn't a soup person, but this soup might have changed his mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2010
I thought this needed more flavor. Not a hit with my family.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bberte

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Des Moines, Iowa, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
I am new to cooking and this was an AMAZING recipe...we loved it! The only changes I made were to add curry powder instead of nutmeg and didn't use the wine. Will be making this again for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
Great recipe! I left the cream out of much of it so it freezes better. The only things I added were a bit of cayenne and some garam masala to give it some Indian warmth. This will definitely be going in my recipe database!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Lockport, Illinois, USA
Living In: Chicago, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Fabulous soup! I have never had much success with pureed soups, however this recipe was easy to follow and absolutely delicious! I admit I will add a wee bit of brown sugar next time just to add a bit more sweetness, but overall this is an absolutely delicious recipe! Thanks so much for helping me find a use for those root vegetables!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
Very traditional tasting soup with all the flavors of fall! I did a few things different though. I used both a baking potato and a sweet potato. I also used veggie broth and not chicken. I increased the squash by about 3/4 cup as well. I got a large squash, which was WAY too much. I would reccomend (unless you want left over squash) to pick the smallest squash you can find! I cooked it all and froze half of it. Even using the half squash, there was still more than called for in this recipe, so I added more to it. I think this ended up being a good thing as it made the soup thicker. Even this made a very large pot of soup. I ended up freezing half of the soup as well, which thawed and heated tasted just as good as the first time! I will make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by amandanicole82

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2010
OMG! Made this last night! DELISH!!! You won't be disappointed! I bought two butternut squashes as I was not sure how much I was going to get out of just 1 squash. But you only need to buy one for this recipe. However, it won't go to waste, I am going to make another batch this week!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 15, 2010
We didn't care for this soup. Runny with no flavor. Maybe I did something wrong, but I will definitely not make this recipe again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Okoboji, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 211) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Cool As A Cucumber Salad
Cool As A Cucumber Salad

We have over 100 cucumber salads to help you keep your cool.

Classic Meatloaf
Classic Meatloaf

Meatloaf is the hearty, family-pleasing meal that makes the greatest leftovers ever.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Roasted Apple Parsnip Soup

See how to make a comforting, warming winter meal.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States