Butternut and Apple Harvest Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 10)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2011
This was great with a smoked turkey tenderloin
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 2, 2011
This was great! I made it twice, and the first time my family liked it, but it was a little too thick and 'squashy'. So this time I added cauliflower too, plus a bit more broth and some extra potato - didn't have leeks so just used extra onion. Used a gala apple. Much better with this extra other vegetable variation. I used white potatoes instead of sweet, since we were trying to get away from the strong orange vegetable taste. Also added a pinch of cinnamon along with the nutmeg, no wine, and only a little bit of lite half and half. Thumbs up!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by paslea1987
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2010
Love this soup. I've made it several times in the last few weeks. I used canned pumpkin in place of the squash to save on some time. I also never ever have leeks on hand so I used regular onions. Used butter substitute and fat free half and half. No need for the extra fat. This soup does not need it. I've also given it a few shakes of sage,thyme,rosemary and black pepper in addition to the nutmeg. Awesome soup. Just made it again tonight and added about 1 tspn of chopped fresh ginger just to give it some kick. It was super. Topped it with fat free sour cream and some homemade croutons (recipe from this site) Thanks for sharing !
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
24 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by paslea1987

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
This is a great soup, but I didn't really taste the apple in it. Our family all enjoyed it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 27, 2010
I love this soup, but I prefer not to puree the entire soup. I left some chunks of potatoes and carrots...It was a huge hit at Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 22, 2010
Wonderful recipe, exactly what I was hoping for from a squash soup. I used a whole butternut squash (probably an extra cup) - no reason to waste! Based on some reviews, I used a sweet potato and added 2T brown sugar and 1t cinnamon. I (shockingly) didn't have any white wine in the house, so I used apple cider vinegar instead of the wine - word of caution: you do NOT need 1/4 cup of vinegar! 1T or 2T would be plenty. It didn't ruin the soup, but it was a tad zingier than I planned. I used the cream - for the amount you're adding to such a large pot, it doesn't make the fat content go through the roof, and adds extra depth. Pleased even the skeptics in the group. Making it again for Thanksgiving Eve!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2010
Came out great. I omitted the leeks, chives, and wine because I don't like them. I used a Sweet Potato. I also added about a cup or so more Squash, and used about 1-2 teaspoons of Nutmeg, Sage, Cayenne, and Rosemary because people said it was bland. Flavor was subtle but good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Port Orange, Florida, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
Excellant soup for fall. We used sweet potatoes instead and dropped the white wine. Enjoyed by all...even folks that like butternut squash, but had not had the soup yet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Quite delicious, even without the cream. The amount of squash called for didn't seem like enough, but I trusted the recipe and it was fine. The wine I used was too sweet I think, so make sure it really is dry if you use it, which I don't think you need to, really. Definitely a fall hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
A delicious fall soup! I added cloves, ginger and cinnamon (1/2 tsp each) to enhance the the apple flavour. My husband isn't a soup person, but this soup might have changed his mind.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmac

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 91-100 (of 198) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Food on Fire
Food on Fire

Find out what to cook for your next BBQ.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States