Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Dec. 27, 2011
Very good recipe - for those of us who like it just a bit sweeter, it was just the right amount of sugar....I subbed out the cinnamon and substituted cayenne pepper while the soup was heating up - muy delicioso!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 21, 2011
Delicious! I made with it with only butternut squash. The soup is sweet and well seasoned--a surprising combination.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Angela

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 7, 2011
Yum! I took someone's advice about sauteing lemongrass/ginger/garlic before adding a can of coconut milk. I put 2T of curry spice, some dried basil and a dash of cumin into the coconut milk mix, let it simmer a little, then added the squash. Yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2011
With a cold front coming in today, my thoughts turned to soup. I just received from a friend a garden fresh butternut and acorn squash and this was the first recipe I found that contained both. I made it just as the recipe called. It was too sweet. No sugar is needed. My family would not eat it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 24, 2011
This is work, but it is worth it. I ended up forgetting to put the cream cheese in and didn't miss it. I imagine it would be even better. Make this.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2011
Yum! The first time making this soup I followed the recipe as written. It was absolutely wonderful. Today when I made the soup I used less brown sugar and butter than the recipe called for and substituted tofu for the cream cheese. The end result just as good. This soup freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2011
Love this soup! We're vegetarian so I use vegetable broth instead of chicken, more onion than the recipe calls for, and less brown sugar. My family loves it too. It has become a fall and Thanksgiving staple.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2011
This was awesome! I altered it a bit to make it healthier. I did not use any butter, and I used weightwatchers cream cheese & splenda brown sugar; and it still tasted rich and flavorful. Will definitely be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2011
This was my first time making squash soup. I'm usually afraid of soup because it comes out so thick and never loose enough. But this was sooo good and so perfect. I changed some things. I caramelized the onion in the butter (not just until tender). I transfered the onion to my blender and added 8 cups water and 5 buillion cubes for the broth and let that boil. I added the rest of the ingredients to the blender including: I added a can evaporated milk. I used a bit less sugar. Added a generous dash of cayenne and a dash of ginger. I served it with freshly baked cheddar cheese bread and my family enjoyed it tremendously.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
Great! I did, however, make some changes. I put in half the amount of cream cheese, used chicken base--and made it strong--for the broth, and added curry powder. Mmmmm!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 281) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States