Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Lovely soup! The best part about this recipe is how easily it is adjusted to suit each family's tastes. I took the advice of another reviewer and waited until the end to add brown sugar, bit by bit until I reached the level of sweetness that was right for us. I also used 4 oz of Neufchatel cheese instead of 8 oz cream cheese and only about half a quart of chicken broth. Thank you for this excellent and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I am new to squash but this recipe is off the chain!!! I did tweek it a little by roasting the squash sliced side up and seasoned, and I substituted the cream cheese with greek yogart,used less berown sugar, added fresh ginger. Next time I'll eliminate the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 8, 2012
This was ok. The 1/3 cup sugar is way too much though. For a more bisque-like flavor, I'd replace the cream cheese with heavy cream instead. Maybe the addition of garlic would give it some more oomph.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 23, 2012
One of my favorites!! Love squash and this really made my entire family enjoy it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jomama2010

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Buffalo, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 31, 2012
A delicious, creamy soup. Loved it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
I love Butternut Squash. This was my first attempt at soup and it turned out great. I read several reviews and cut the brown sugar to 1/4 C. I used the cinnamon. I have a feeling it is even going to be better tomorrow?
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Dakota1200

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Hillsdale, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 25, 2012
My daughter made this soup for me. I think it's the best I have ever eaten.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I used neufchatel cheese to cut down on calories and fat. For the sweetness, I cut down the amount of brown sugar to 1 tablespoon and used Splenda brand. It was delicious! This also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sharon

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
The first time I made this soup it was very rich. We thought it was too rich for our taste. The second time I made it I cut back on the cream cheese to 4oz and 1/4 of sugar and 1 TBLS of butter. I added 1 tsp cinnamon and 1 tsp nutmeg. This is our preference.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsboro, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2012
I would have rated it a 5, but I halved the cream cheese to make it a bit healthier. The texture was still creamy and the flavor was delicious! This is my go-to squash soup recipe from now on!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Rochester, New York, USA
Living In: Indianapolis, Indiana, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Labor of Love
Labor of Love

End summer with a bang with festive Labor Day recipes.

Healthier Lunches for Kids
Healthier Lunches for Kids

Send them to school with good-for-you food that’s tasty, too.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States