Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My husband loves it when I make this! In addition to the cinnamon, I also add a teaspoon or so of Cumin for a little more kick, and with a teaspoon dollop of sour cream for garnish. You can also save some time if your local grocery sells squash already cut in chunks - you can then either: (1) roast them with some butter and spices on them, or (2) boil them until soft. Then proceed with Steps 2-4 above. Once cooked, it also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very yummy. I ended up using 3 different squash: acorn, red kuru, and buttercup. It was delicious and I didn't need to adjust any of the measurements. I would recommend adding a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very simple to make, and it has a nice creamy, sweet taste. I reduced the amount of butter and cream cheese so that it was a little less rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tracy Donohue

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
How I messed it up: It was a busy day and I got into cooking it late. Then I discovered that there was no cream cheese. So all I did was the squash and broth that night. I also used a yellow onion and was having acid reflux all night from one tablespoon of it. How I fixed it: I only used 3 cans of broth so I only had to use half the cream cheese, which is awesome because that cuts down your fat grams. I also added ground ginger to aide in digestion, ground clove, cinnamon, Mrs. Dash seasoning and freeze dried chives. I've never succeeded in making soup before. Never. The best I can do is ramen, and half the time I overcook that. So this recipe is something you need to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Wow, this soup is amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This soup is perfect for the Fall season, it's very rich, so instead of diluting I blended in some crushed red pepper for a kick and it was amazing! I am adding it to my Thanksgiving menu this year for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I only used 3 ounces of Cream cheese because sadly that's all I had on hand and it still came out great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I am not a fan of squash soup, but since we got bombarded by squash from my CSA I was determined to use them. This recipe was great! Rich, creamy, and I used a dash of cinnamon. Too much cinnamon would have ruined this for me. My husband loved it, he was "impressed"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2012
Lovely soup! The best part about this recipe is how easily it is adjusted to suit each family's tastes. I took the advice of another reviewer and waited until the end to add brown sugar, bit by bit until I reached the level of sweetness that was right for us. I also used 4 oz of Neufchatel cheese instead of 8 oz cream cheese and only about half a quart of chicken broth. Thank you for this excellent and versatile recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Columbus, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 26, 2012
I am new to squash but this recipe is off the chain!!! I did tweek it a little by roasting the squash sliced side up and seasoned, and I substituted the cream cheese with greek yogart,used less berown sugar, added fresh ginger. Next time I'll eliminate the sugar
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States