Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
I left out the onions because my husband hates them. I was so surprised how good and easy this was! Baking the squash is definitely the best way to go!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2012
Really really yummy!! I used vegetable broth instead of chicken(vegetarian). I can't wait to make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
My husband loves it when I make this! In addition to the cinnamon, I also add a teaspoon or so of Cumin for a little more kick, and with a teaspoon dollop of sour cream for garnish. You can also save some time if your local grocery sells squash already cut in chunks - you can then either: (1) roast them with some butter and spices on them, or (2) boil them until soft. Then proceed with Steps 2-4 above. Once cooked, it also freezes well.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2012
Very yummy. I ended up using 3 different squash: acorn, red kuru, and buttercup. It was delicious and I didn't need to adjust any of the measurements. I would recommend adding a dash of cayenne.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Very simple to make, and it has a nice creamy, sweet taste. I reduced the amount of butter and cream cheese so that it was a little less rich.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 10, 2012
How I messed it up: It was a busy day and I got into cooking it late. Then I discovered that there was no cream cheese. So all I did was the squash and broth that night. I also used a yellow onion and was having acid reflux all night from one tablespoon of it. How I fixed it: I only used 3 cans of broth so I only had to use half the cream cheese, which is awesome because that cuts down your fat grams. I also added ground ginger to aide in digestion, ground clove, cinnamon, Mrs. Dash seasoning and freeze dried chives. I've never succeeded in making soup before. Never. The best I can do is ramen, and half the time I overcook that. So this recipe is something you need to try.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 8, 2012
Wow, this soup is amazing. Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2012
This soup is perfect for the Fall season, it's very rich, so instead of diluting I blended in some crushed red pepper for a kick and it was amazing! I am adding it to my Thanksgiving menu this year for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2012
I only used 3 ounces of Cream cheese because sadly that's all I had on hand and it still came out great!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I am not a fan of squash soup, but since we got bombarded by squash from my CSA I was determined to use them. This recipe was great! Rich, creamy, and I used a dash of cinnamon. Too much cinnamon would have ruined this for me. My husband loved it, he was "impressed"!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 282) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Gotta Feed the Football Fans
Gotta Feed the Football Fans

Get cheer-worthy chili, ribs, dips, snacks, and treats.

New! Free Menus
New! Free Menus

Now you can try Menu Planner free. Start your 30-day trial today.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States