Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 20)
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Wonderful! I threw in a peeled red delicious apple for fun.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Miranda

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Made it for company Friday, exactly as written. Big hit. Will do it again, exactly as written!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by acorn2

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Union Pier, Michigan, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2010
Fantastic Soup - don't change a thing. Goes great with corn bread!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful
Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I loved it, my mom looked at the color and said icky. I don't feel her opinion is valid on this since she didn't actually try it. Was great with ginger rice like curry
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
4 stars because the squash was not soft after baking...I put it in the microwave for about 5 minutes and it was the perfect consistency and completely cooked...no need for baking it and the time is cut down also, I added some vanilla extract and fat free half and half - I also used fat free cream cheese and a bit less butter. The taste was perfect great recipe
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I just tried this tonight and made the following changes: added half a sugar pumpkin (one of the little pumpkins they sell for baking) to the squash mix, doubled the onion. added a chopped leek and sauteed them in a mixture of butter and olive oil instead of all butter, only used about 2TB Splenda brown sugar mix, about 6oz light cream cheese and added add'l spices (cayenne, cumin, curry, thyme and nutmeg) per another review.. and garnished with chopped cilantro. I used an immersion blender while adding almost a full quart of chicken stock until the soup was the perfect consistency -- it turned out wonderfully creamy and smooth with such amazing flavor! I will definitely make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Carla Semola

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
I could not find any Squash so I used pumpkin and following the recipe. I put 2 shakes of Cinnamon (too much) - next time I will give one shake. Also found 1/3 cup brown sugar was too much, so will use 1/4 cup (or less) next time I make this. Overall, it was easy to make, and recommend the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
Absolutely delicious!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
4 and 1/2 stars is what i mean - i can't do 1/2's:( this was absolutely delicious. i wanted to eat the whole entire potful by myself. i followed some others' suggestions - using only 2/3 qt. chicken broth, no sugar at all, only 6 ozs. cream cheese, adding cayenne, cumin, curry,thyme, cinnamon as well as nutmeg. the sizes of the squashs don't really matter as one reviewer suggested except in baking them - the butternut one was larger and was not really done when the acorn one was. i roasted the seeds from the squash and put a few on the top(they are very different in texture from other edible seeds). it looked so pretty in our attractive bowls that i will def. make for company. served w/a salad of greens, dried cranberries, bleu cheese crumbles, walnuts, and avocados and a crusty bread right out of the oven. hmmmmmm!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Martinsville, Virginia, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2010
This has amazing flavor, but takes a LOT more time than it seems. I had to process in 4 or 5 batches, and it was a mess. My husband really liked it, but the squash took over an hour to get tender (and I cooked it at 400). Unless I'm seriously craving squash soup, I think I'd make something much easier next time. (ALSO - the cinnamon was AMAZING touch to this soup, highly recommend just a dash or two!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jmarie617

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sterling, Virginia, USA
Living In: Gainesville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 191-200 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States