Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2014
I followed others suggestions and made this with only 2 oz. fat free cream cheese. It is definitely a keeper and was just sweet enough! My family enjoys it with a side salad and it is the perfect soup and salad combo on a chilly evening.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Melody Smith

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by katieandbrent
Reviewed: Nov. 23, 2014
My kids love it! We made squash bread bowls to put it in, yummy! Thanks new winter favorite!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I received a butternut squash and an acorn squash as part of a seasonal produce delivery and decided upon this recipe to use them. The procedure was fairly simple and the end product was SOOOOO GOOD!!! My husband doesn't usually like squash / sweet potato / pumpkin type foods, but he LOVED this. I plan to make it again on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I can't say with authority how good this recipe is, as I didn't have all the ingredients to make it. But using the basic outline worked really well. I roasted the squash as instructed, but I drizzled olive oil, pepper, cayenne and salt on them before putting them in the oven. I also roasted a clove of garlic alongside it. I read some of the reviews as well, and since I wanted something naturally sweet, I cut out the sugar and cream cheese, and switched it out for low fat evap. milk. And since I didn't plan ahead, I had to use a leek instead of an onion. You can also cut the amount of butter. After the whole roasting in spices, you don't need to add more (unless that's really your thing). Rich, warm, mildly sweet and spicy! Perfect mix for a winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was the best butternut soup I have ever had in my life. I think it was the cream cheese that made it so delicious. I also added in a little pumpkin puree that I had from another recipe I made. Oh my. And it was even better the second day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Used an immersion hand blender instead of dirtying the blender and it still came out great! I cut down on the butter (1 tbsp) and did 1/4 c brown sugar. The cream cheese makes it taste so good - and I used light instead. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I, like others, cut the sugar and cream cheese in half, added about a teaspoon of curry, a 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper, and about 2/3 of the chicken broth. Next time, I think I may even do slightly less broth because I like it to be pretty thick. Overall, awesome recipe to start and play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was the easiest soup I made. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed the directions as is and thought it turned out great! It does have that sweet, creamy texture & taste but I like it a lot. It is a lot of work and dirty dishes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States