Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 18)
Reviewed: Oct. 25, 2010
A little too sweet for my taste, so I'll cut down the amount of brown sugar next time. Overall a good soup that I'll make again. VERY easy to prepare.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
I made no changes and added the cinnamon. Some thought it was too sweet, personally I liked it, but if you like things less sweet you can cut down the sugar. Will be making it again. Note: I used light cream cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shan

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Burlington, Ontario, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Quite tasty. Next time I'd add crushed toasted pecans. Would add some crunch and texture.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by PotsandPans etc

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2010
Really liked this soup! I agree with some of the other reviewers in that it was a little on the sweet side. I think next time I'll also cut back on the brown sugar or try omitting it all together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
Heavenly! I followed the recipe exactly. I will be making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefAMY

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2010
I think I would have loved this soup with any number of different vegetables but I did not care for it with squash. I loved the simplicity of ingredients and think it would highlight roasted broccoli, asparagus or any other vegetable that is typically in a creamy soup. I only used 1/2 the amount of cream cheese (as suggested by others) but it was enough to ruin the squash for me.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
Amazing!!!! This is now my favorite soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Wyoming, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
I loved this recipe! I did change it up a bit because of what I had on hand. I only used half of the cream cheese and brown sugar. Also instead of putting in cinnamon I added home-made applesuace. I also added carrot which I cut up very very small and sauted with the onion. I also added dried thyme and ginger. This was so good! I will deffinately make this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was easy and delicious. Will make this a fall and winter regular! I did add a pinch of nutmeg. I especially like how it stays thick and doesn't get watery when reheated.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2010
This was Amazing. I made a couple of small changes though. I added one clove of garlic to the onion as it was cooking and cut the brown sugar down to 1/4 cup. It is well worth the effort to make this
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 171-180 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

A Day To Remember
A Day To Remember

Memorial Day is a time to get together with friends and family for food, fun, and memories.

Potato Salad
Potato Salad

Nothing beats a big bowl of cool, creamy potato salad at your cookout.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States