Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Unbelievable easy and tastes great!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Used half as much brown sugar and cream cheese as the recipe called for and included a sprinkling of garam masala - yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jen
Living In: Cleveland, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
Good recipe - however I did make a few changes. Increase the onion to about 1 cup. I also added 1 teaspoon of Garam Masala. This is a blend of savory Indian spices and is salt free. I am a big Penzeys Spice fan and that is where I found it. It gave a wonderful flavor other than just cinnamon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Suann

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Barnesville, Ohio, USA
Living In: Shadyside, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
Great recipe!! Very easy. I used about half the brown sugar and added curry power to the onions when they were sauteeing. It made a ton so I canned the leftovers. Can't wait for fresh squash soup in the middle of winter!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by lucyford

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by m_cuisinier
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2010
This is an excellent soup - especially with a dough baked on top of the soup bowl in the oven for an extra 10-15 minutes.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Very very yummy! I did not add the brown sugar... In my opinion it really did not need it. My whole family ate it!!! Will definitely make again. I roasted my squash differently though. I did them face up in a half inch of water with butter and salt n pepper over them... Great recipe! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Megan2429

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I can't give this 5 stars because I changed a crucial thing or two, and I don't know how it tastes with the original ingredients, but I give it 4 because it was an AWESOME place to start! I'm vegan so dairy was out of the question. Instead I made a "cream" out of raw cashews and water, with about 1/2 tsp lemon juice, and used that in in it's place. The end result was a thick, hearty, and rich bisque that everyone raves about. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
What a wonderful recipe! I used the biggest butternut and acorn squashes I could find and microwaved them while doing some other things. I used half the cream cheese, no sugar (the squash is naturally sweet), and a bit of cinnamon as other people suggested. I keep "tasting" and hope there is some left for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This soup was amazing! I added about 2 cups of roasted pumpkin as well and dubbed it "Winter Squash Medley Soup" I also added plenty of garlic and celery to the onions and pureed it all until very smooth, used veggie broth to make it vegetarian. The result was an incredible sweet and savory soup that was also surprisingly filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This soup is terrific. I have made it twice and the first time my cream cheese was not soft and I had small white lumps, but it was still yummy. I also used splenda brown sugar.The second time I softened my cream cheese and I held my food processor button down for the count of 30 with each batch. I still used splenda brown sugar. It was smooth and heavenly to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 306) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Super Bowl Feast
Super Bowl Feast

Chili, brats, and more to feed your hungry football fans.

Sweet Touchdown Treats
Sweet Touchdown Treats

Cheer on your team with a little something sweet.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States