Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 15)
Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2010
I can't give this 5 stars because I changed a crucial thing or two, and I don't know how it tastes with the original ingredients, but I give it 4 because it was an AWESOME place to start! I'm vegan so dairy was out of the question. Instead I made a "cream" out of raw cashews and water, with about 1/2 tsp lemon juice, and used that in in it's place. The end result was a thick, hearty, and rich bisque that everyone raves about. Two thumbs up.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by JustDMarine

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
What a wonderful recipe! I used the biggest butternut and acorn squashes I could find and microwaved them while doing some other things. I used half the cream cheese, no sugar (the squash is naturally sweet), and a bit of cinnamon as other people suggested. I keep "tasting" and hope there is some left for dinner!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This soup was amazing! I added about 2 cups of roasted pumpkin as well and dubbed it "Winter Squash Medley Soup" I also added plenty of garlic and celery to the onions and pureed it all until very smooth, used veggie broth to make it vegetarian. The result was an incredible sweet and savory soup that was also surprisingly filling.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2010
This soup is terrific. I have made it twice and the first time my cream cheese was not soft and I had small white lumps, but it was still yummy. I also used splenda brown sugar.The second time I softened my cream cheese and I held my food processor button down for the count of 30 with each batch. I still used splenda brown sugar. It was smooth and heavenly to eat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
I followed this recipe as is except...I cooked the squash in a microwave safe dish face down with about 1/4 cup of water for about 15 min per squash. It didn't heat my kitchen up and it takes up less time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2010
This soup was delicious. I used 1/2 an onion and a tad more stock. Everyone had a second bowl!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2010
AWESOME! But I skipped all the sugar and cinnamon. Sub'd 3/4 cup heavy cream for the cream cheese. Also, cooked the squash in the microwave 15 minutes instead of baking. Served it in mini pumpkin bowls (cut the tops off, scoop out seeds, season with 1/4 tsp salt/sugar per bowl, bake @ 400 for 25 minutes). Very savory and delicious and fun for the kids!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2010
Hummm...that was weird! Our family ate it with ALOT of bread and butter. It kinda looked like Velveeta cheese and tasted like baby food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Awesome!! I added a little cayenne for some kick and it was just the right amount of spice!! Soo great on a cool, winter day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 26, 2010
I made this the other night came out wonderful, used a hit of homemade masala spice in place of the cinnamon, it was divine.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 141-150 (of 290) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States