Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 11)
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2011
Recipe was easy to make. I thought it tasted too much of cream cheese, but my husband loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kirsten Weaver

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by bellepepper
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2011
I happened to have both a butternut squash and an acorn squash so I selected this recipe. I used this as a guide and came up with what we thought was a nice variation. My butternut squash was quite large and wasn’t soft enough after baking it for 45 minutes. I didn’t realize this until I was scooping the flesh from the skin and it was too late to put it back in the oven. So I added the chicken broth to the squash flesh and simmered it covered for another 45 minutes. Then I used my emersion blender and it smoothed out beautifully. It was way too thick, so I added another can of chicken broth. I used no sugar at all, as I thought it was sweet enough on it’s own. Instead of cream cheese, I just added some milk. My result was a nice squash soup that wasn’t too sweet at all.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bellepepper

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Upper Arlington, Ohio, USA
Living In: Dublin, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2011
If there were more than five stars, I would have rated this recipe higher. It has all the elements I look for: it's simple, nutritious and delicious! I will adjust the sugar/seasonings to taste... Maybe try curry powder instead of cinnamon next time, but honestly... I LOVE this recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2011
Really good - I added 1/2 tsp of cayenne, used only a small handful of brown sugar, and about 6 oz of cream cheese. Husband RAVED.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This soup was fantastic. I have to say it was pretty rich and if you plan on making this recipe add the brown sugar and cinnamon last so it doesn't get too intense. This is going into my fall recipe favorites for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This makes great vegetarian soup - I just replaced the chicken stock with vegetable stock. Can also be made non-dairy - it's amazing with coconut milk instead of cream cheese, and I added some lemongrass to the stock. In a word, wow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2011
This soup was awesome. I will make it again and again. I added a few pinches of celery seed, a dash of cumin and nutmeg and a chicken boulion cube to add to the chicken broth intensity. I figured it wouldn't be to sweet then. Used white pepper instead of black as well. I served it with parmesan croutons and it was a big hit. Couldn't be easier and we'll definitely have it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 17, 2011
This was a great soup but I went ahead and made some minor changes: I doubled recipe except for the cream cheese. Used 1 leek and 1 small sweet onion, used both cinnamon and nutmeg. I also added all ingredients except for the squash to a stockpot and brought to a light boil. Then mashed the squash and added it to the pot. Once everything was combined I put it through a food processor. This is a great fall recipe and will definitely make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2011
This was delicious! For garnish, I chopped up the parsley and added scallions and gorgonzola cheese. What a perfect fall dish :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2011
This will be my new addiction this winter. I just made this tonight and it was so good! I did add the optional cinnamon and I added olive oil and used only 1 tbsp butter. Also I used 4 cups of water with 4 chicken bullion cubes. It makes enough soup for an army. I loved this and would give it mores stars if I could. Thank you for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Shelly

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Weatherford, Texas, USA

Displaying results 101-110 (of 309) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Homemade Pancakes Are So Easy
Easy Homemade Pancakes

Homemade pancakes are so easy to make, and nothing tastes better.

Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend
Guacamole, Chips' Best Friend

Try one of our dozens of ways to make delicious fresh guacamole.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States