Butternut and Acorn Squash Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2014
I received a butternut squash and an acorn squash as part of a seasonal produce delivery and decided upon this recipe to use them. The procedure was fairly simple and the end product was SOOOOO GOOD!!! My husband doesn't usually like squash / sweet potato / pumpkin type foods, but he LOVED this. I plan to make it again on Thanksgiving!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Georgetown, Delaware, USA
Living In: Vienna, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2014
Love it!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2014
I can't say with authority how good this recipe is, as I didn't have all the ingredients to make it. But using the basic outline worked really well. I roasted the squash as instructed, but I drizzled olive oil, pepper, cayenne and salt on them before putting them in the oven. I also roasted a clove of garlic alongside it. I read some of the reviews as well, and since I wanted something naturally sweet, I cut out the sugar and cream cheese, and switched it out for low fat evap. milk. And since I didn't plan ahead, I had to use a leek instead of an onion. You can also cut the amount of butter. After the whole roasting in spices, you don't need to add more (unless that's really your thing). Rich, warm, mildly sweet and spicy! Perfect mix for a winter meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2014
This was the best butternut soup I have ever had in my life. I think it was the cream cheese that made it so delicious. I also added in a little pumpkin puree that I had from another recipe I made. Oh my. And it was even better the second day. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
Used an immersion hand blender instead of dirtying the blender and it still came out great! I cut down on the butter (1 tbsp) and did 1/4 c brown sugar. The cream cheese makes it taste so good - and I used light instead. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2014
I, like others, cut the sugar and cream cheese in half, added about a teaspoon of curry, a 1/2 teaspoon of crushed red pepper, and about 2/3 of the chicken broth. Next time, I think I may even do slightly less broth because I like it to be pretty thick. Overall, awesome recipe to start and play around with!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Marianne
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2014
This was the easiest soup I made. It was delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
I followed the directions as is and thought it turned out great! It does have that sweet, creamy texture & taste but I like it a lot. It is a lot of work and dirty dishes though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2014
If anyone is looking to modify this to be spicy and savory instead of sweet, I added kale, garlic salt, removed the sugar and cream cheese and subbed 1 cup of heavy cream for broth (do two if you want it creamier), and used some horseradish spreadable cheddar I had in the fridge instead of cream cheese (but any soft cheese would do), and added cayenne and white pepper. VERY delicious if you want a spicy squash soup
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
I halved the sugar and cheese.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 297) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Best Thanksgiving Recipes
Best Thanksgiving Recipes

From the bird to the sides to the cranberry sauce and the pie, it's all here for you.

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States