Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
While this soup recipe was a good starting off point, I felt the need to bump up the flavor and ingredients. I added a can of diced tomatoes, a Granny Smith apple, and some nutmeg to make it a little more Fall-ish and to sneak in some more "good stuff". I used half the amount of Kale to ensure it wouldn't be too bitter for my kids. All in all, the soup was delicious. I wish I hadn't used 12 cups of broth as the recipe called for since I felt it was a little thin. I think 10 c would've been perfect. My husband also wished it had some more beans as he is not vegetarian, and I agree. Don't forget the bread...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this when I had busted my permanent retainer and couldn't eat hard food. I switched the vegetable broth out for Herb & Wine broth when I couldn't find any Veggie in the store. It was delicious! It was quick, easy, and absolutely amazing. I will definitely make it again. Even if you don't think you like squash, try this recipe -- you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was a wonderful hearty soup for our cold winters in Massachusetts. The only things I did differently were using olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I used chicken broth as the store did not carry vegetable broth. So good my 4 year old devoured a bowl of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by felicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rpariser
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Pretty good, this recipe makes a ton of soup! I left out about two cups of broth because it did not fit into my soup pot. Good thing I did, because after pureeing three cups of the soup it was not very chunky (I like chunky soup). I added more garlic and about a teaspoon of rosemary to more flavor. I also added in a handful of pasta shapes at the end because I thought that it needed something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpariser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This soup was delicious. To make it easier I used one large can of pumpkin instead of the butternut and did not need to puree. It was thick and delicious and tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Absolutely wonderful and full of flavor. Could not stop eating it from dinner time until 4:00 am for a snack. Will make again, many times!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great flavor, great ingredients, simple directions! This was a great recipe. I did tweak so I couldn't give it 5 stars as it stands, but I didn't change much so 4 stars it is. I blanched the potatoes (idaho) ahead of time and softened the squash by microwaving it under plastic wrap for about 10 minutes to make it easy to peel and chop. I used a can of drained, chopped greens instead of kale just because that is what I had on hand. Everything else was pretty much the same and my whole family loved it...even my very picky youngest son! Great winter meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
It always amazes me that vegetables alone, with just a few seasonings, taste so delicious! This recipe is a winner, both tast wise and health wise. Although I don't agree with the boiling time (my veggies were almost overdone after 25 minutes), I didn't change a thing about the recipe except for reducing the broth by 2 cups and adding cabbage with the kale. What a wonderful way to get your vitamins! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I only added 2 cups of Kale... I didn't want to take a risk of ruining the soup with such a bitter green. The soup tastes SO GOOD, but you'll have to wait until the very end to rate this one. PLEASE DO NOT IGNORE THE FINAL STEP. HOLD DOWN THE LID WITH A CLOTH! You may want someone with muscles doing this one. I thought the lid of my blender would be able to handle it... Let's just say, I had to add 15 min to the recipe because of extra cleaning time. Excuse me while I go have a shower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
It was really good. I chose not to puree the soup and i like d it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States