Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this when I had busted my permanent retainer and couldn't eat hard food. I switched the vegetable broth out for Herb & Wine broth when I couldn't find any Veggie in the store. It was delicious! It was quick, easy, and absolutely amazing. I will definitely make it again. Even if you don't think you like squash, try this recipe -- you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Absolutely wonderful and full of flavor. Could not stop eating it from dinner time until 4:00 am for a snack. Will make again, many times!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but I made this soup according to the recipe and the bitterness of the kale is overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was delicious for healthy food. My kids were not fond of the kale, but my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
While this soup recipe was a good starting off point, I felt the need to bump up the flavor and ingredients. I added a can of diced tomatoes, a Granny Smith apple, and some nutmeg to make it a little more Fall-ish and to sneak in some more "good stuff". I used half the amount of Kale to ensure it wouldn't be too bitter for my kids. All in all, the soup was delicious. I wish I hadn't used 12 cups of broth as the recipe called for since I felt it was a little thin. I think 10 c would've been perfect. My husband also wished it had some more beans as he is not vegetarian, and I agree. Don't forget the bread...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
27 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I used 8 cups of vegetable broth because it is just two of us and I didn't want a lot of leftovers. We used 2 cups of kale and added 1 can of mushrooms because I like mushrooms. This was so good. Thanks for the inspiration. The recipe was added to our book. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was a wonderful hearty soup for our cold winters in Massachusetts. The only things I did differently were using olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I used chicken broth as the store did not carry vegetable broth. So good my 4 year old devoured a bowl of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by felicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
A really good, different soup. I have soup nearly everyday for lunch at work and I am slways looking for new ideas. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My first soup. WINNER! The only change I made was baby spinach instead of kale since I had it, extra salt, pepper and added cayenne pepper. Everyone loves how pretty and flavorful it is. Thanks. Awesome with a chunk of crusty baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Omega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2010
Delicious! It has a sweet, earthy taste to it. I used double the amount of garlic and veggies, (plus mushrooms) and substituted a can of garbonzo beans for the great northern beans that the recipe calls for, as well as two cans of pinto beans and a can of kidney beans. The result was hearty and truly scrumptious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States