Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe! Very easy to alter to suit your tastes and vegetables on hand. I reduced the vegetable oil to just 2T, added 1 1/2 cups mushrooms with the onion and garlic, omitted carrots and kale, and added about 1/2 the amount of beans. Also, for spices, added 3T fresh basil, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp tumeric. Reduced the broth to 6 cups, and added 2 cups water. Also, only used 1/2 tsp salt. Delicious! Will be making this one again! One more tip: As other reviewers recommend, I pierced the squash all over with a fork and roasted it whole for an hour at 400 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is so delicious and healthy. I found this recipe by doing an ingredient search for kale. I don't like the taste but wanted to add it to my diet. I can't even taste it in this soup. I accidentally used 8 cups of vegetable broth (bad math) and, fortunately, it seemed to be the perfect amount. I will definitely make this again. A great way to get some colorful veggies into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
OMG this soup is phenomenal!!! I just made it today for the first time and the only thing I added was ground chipotle pepper for some kick. I used probably close to a tablespoon, but for those who don't like a lot of spice you don't have to use so much. I added it when I was sauteing the onions and garlic so that it adds some smokiness to the flavoring. Super yummy. I finished it off with some crunchy baguette bread broiled with some olive oil and I have to admit it's a super addicting dish. This is one for the books!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This soup was awesome! The Kale is a lovely touch (healthy and colorful) if you use about 3 cups. Make sure you simmer for about 15 more minutes or it may be more bitter. I added canned diced tomatoes and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I only added 2 cups of Kale... I didn't want to take a risk of ruining the soup with such a bitter green. The soup tastes SO GOOD, but you'll have to wait until the very end to rate this one. PLEASE DO NOT IGNORE THE FINAL STEP. HOLD DOWN THE LID WITH A CLOTH! You may want someone with muscles doing this one. I thought the lid of my blender would be able to handle it... Let's just say, I had to add 15 min to the recipe because of extra cleaning time. Excuse me while I go have a shower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I'm not one to (successfully) alter a recipe, but here's what I did to make this soup even tastier: 10 cups of broth instead of 12, added a can of garbanzo beans, a couple more potatoes, a large sweet potato, and eliminated the kale. Used the stick blender for a few pulses so it was creamy but still chunky. Oh.My.Gosh. SO GOOD and it makes so much that I was able to eat it almost all week long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
It was really good. I chose not to puree the soup and i like d it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 8, 2011
This soup was delicious. To make it easier I used one large can of pumpkin instead of the butternut and did not need to puree. It was thick and delicious and tasted even better the next day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 7, 2011
I rarely go back and rate recipes, but this one was truly great. I usually fiddle with recipes and change things, but I made this one pretty true (used only 10 c broth, and that was plenty) and it was awesome. Whole family enjoyed it and I'm looking forward to the leftovers for lunch. This is the type of recipe that you can add or modify easily and it will come out great. I'll make this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a wonderfully delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Three Herbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States