Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 28, 2015
I loved this recipe, thank you! Just made a couple alterations: 4 c organic chicken broth + 8 c h20 for broth; used olive oil + 1 tbsp walnut oil; 6-8 small baby red potatoes chopped w/peels; added: 3-4 tbsp brown sugar, 1 generous tsp nutmeg, pinch of cayenne, and steeped in a branch of fresh thyme instead of dried; simmering after boil for an hour+. Didn't purée, love the taste of veggie cubes together. Used all the kale recipe called for: what a powerhouse of nutrition w/butternut squash & kale & xtra brothy style was wonderful for winter "headcold" season!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2015
Excellent with strong thyme taste!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Excellent flavor!! I used sweet potatoes instead of squash, and cut back on the broth, since my husband likes thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This soup is great. I found it to be a little under seasoned so I added a bit of nutmeg and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was a very yummy and easy to modify recipe. Instead of vegetable broth, I used some ham broth that I made up with some smoked ham hocks that I had in my freezer. I also used dried beans instead of canned, let them soak over night and then added them with everything else. I started this on the stove and then moved it to a crock pot and let it finish cooking a little longer because of the beans. Made some ham and beans with the rest of the broth and ham. Now I have my freezer stocked with some great soups! Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this with a few alterations to increase the health value. I made it with no oil, placed all the ingredients in the crock pot, except the salt which I added just before serving. I also used dried great northern beans that I rinsed prior to adding. I cooked it all day on high and everything was beautifully cooked and delicious. Since we eat vegan I used a vegan chicken flavored broth powder instead of the veggie broth (since I did not have any) and thought it made a nice complement to the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
So delicious. I made this because I needed to do something with a bunch a kale. I thougt this looked healthy. I never thought it would be so good. I added some fresh basil, parsley, oregano, and green onions also. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was pretty good. I liked the butternut and all the vegetables in it. It was hard to assemble though. I think we overcooked it the butternut squash. The recipe was also a little bit too sweet for our tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious! I added a rutabaga, used a peeled baking potato in place of the red potatoes -- roasted all the veggies in the oven after tossing with olive oil and herbes de provence then added them to the broth -- also added a can of big lima beans with the northern beans -- threw in about 1/2 TBSP more herbes de provence near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this today and it was awesome! I for 8 servings and used a little less broth than on the recipe; I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and pinto beans instead of the northern beans because that all I had. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Versatile Chicken Salad
Versatile Chicken Salad

Pile it into a tomato half, load it into a wrap, or spread it on bread. Chicken salad does it all.

Beautiful Broccoli Salad
Beautiful Broccoli Salad

Broccoli salad makes a great side dish or a light main dish on a warm night.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States