Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this when I had busted my permanent retainer and couldn't eat hard food. I switched the vegetable broth out for Herb & Wine broth when I couldn't find any Veggie in the store. It was delicious! It was quick, easy, and absolutely amazing. I will definitely make it again. Even if you don't think you like squash, try this recipe -- you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
20 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Absolutely wonderful and full of flavor. Could not stop eating it from dinner time until 4:00 am for a snack. Will make again, many times!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I used 8 cups of vegetable broth because it is just two of us and I didn't want a lot of leftovers. We used 2 cups of kale and added 1 can of mushrooms because I like mushrooms. This was so good. Thanks for the inspiration. The recipe was added to our book. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
A really good, different soup. I have soup nearly everyday for lunch at work and I am slways looking for new ideas. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My first soup. WINNER! The only change I made was baby spinach instead of kale since I had it, extra salt, pepper and added cayenne pepper. Everyone loves how pretty and flavorful it is. Thanks. Awesome with a chunk of crusty baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Omega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was a hearty, delicious, vegetarian soup! I upped a lot of the veggies- I used 1 large onion instead of 1 cup diced; 4 potatoes instead of 2, and 2 cans of beans instead of 1. I used the whole amount of vegetable broth, and threw some fresh basil leaves in there as well. Delicious! Served with crusty, French bread and a fall salad for a healthy, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Excellent!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This soup was GREAT! I didn't have kale, so I just skipped it, and I used carnival squash instead of butternut. I'm sure it's great the way the recipe is written, but it's also very adaptable, so bonus points! I think it would also be good with some bacon sprinkled in it, too. I've never liked squash soups, usually they are too sweet for me, but this was just right. Definitely a keeper, a great soup for a chilly, rainy, autumn supper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This soup was SOOOO GOOD! I did take some advice and put in an apple and nut meg... I also rosted the left over squash in the oven and added it to the puree. It really sweeted it up and gave it a more nut flaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a wonderfully delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Three Herbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States