Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2010
My first soup. WINNER! The only change I made was baby spinach instead of kale since I had it, extra salt, pepper and added cayenne pepper. Everyone loves how pretty and flavorful it is. Thanks. Awesome with a chunk of crusty baguette.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Daley

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Camilla, Georgia, USA
Living In: Omega, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 18, 2010
A really good, different soup. I have soup nearly everyday for lunch at work and I am slways looking for new ideas. I will be making this one again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by N Morski
Home Town: Hamburg, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2010
This was a wonderful hearty soup for our cold winters in Massachusetts. The only things I did differently were using olive oil instead of vegetable oil and I used chicken broth as the store did not carry vegetable broth. So good my 4 year old devoured a bowl of it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by felicia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 10, 2009
I used 8 cups of vegetable broth because it is just two of us and I didn't want a lot of leftovers. We used 2 cups of kale and added 1 can of mushrooms because I like mushrooms. This was so good. Thanks for the inspiration. The recipe was added to our book. It's a keeper.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Bobbins

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Brownsville, Oregon, USA
Living In: Keizer, Oregon, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2009
While this soup recipe was a good starting off point, I felt the need to bump up the flavor and ingredients. I added a can of diced tomatoes, a Granny Smith apple, and some nutmeg to make it a little more Fall-ish and to sneak in some more "good stuff". I used half the amount of Kale to ensure it wouldn't be too bitter for my kids. All in all, the soup was delicious. I wish I hadn't used 12 cups of broth as the recipe called for since I felt it was a little thin. I think 10 c would've been perfect. My husband also wished it had some more beans as he is not vegetarian, and I agree. Don't forget the bread...yum!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
25 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2009
This was delicious for healthy food. My kids were not fond of the kale, but my husband and I loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2009
I don't know what I did wrong, but I made this soup according to the recipe and the bitterness of the kale is overwhelming.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 27, 2009
Absolutely wonderful and full of flavor. Could not stop eating it from dinner time until 4:00 am for a snack. Will make again, many times!!!!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 16, 2009
I made this when I had busted my permanent retainer and couldn't eat hard food. I switched the vegetable broth out for Herb & Wine broth when I couldn't find any Veggie in the store. It was delicious! It was quick, easy, and absolutely amazing. I will definitely make it again. Even if you don't think you like squash, try this recipe -- you'll love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
19 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-39 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Beef Barley Vegetable Soup

A hearty beef and barley soup loaded with plenty of vegetables.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States