Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 3)
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2010
This is a wonderfully delicious soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Three Herbs

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 8, 2010
This soup was SOOOO GOOD! I did take some advice and put in an apple and nut meg... I also rosted the left over squash in the oven and added it to the puree. It really sweeted it up and gave it a more nut flaver.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by rpariser
Reviewed: Nov. 30, 2010
Pretty good, this recipe makes a ton of soup! I left out about two cups of broth because it did not fit into my soup pot. Good thing I did, because after pureeing three cups of the soup it was not very chunky (I like chunky soup). I added more garlic and about a teaspoon of rosemary to more flavor. I also added in a handful of pasta shapes at the end because I thought that it needed something more.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rpariser

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Miami, Florida, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 16, 2010
I made this and my husband said it was one of the best meals I've cooked, my daughter agreed. They really loved it. I didn't use any kale and made a few adjustments. I added a couple of bay leaves, added sliced mushrooms and celery, added parsley, basil, thyme and the biggest change I made was I sauteed some chopped steak then added it to simmer with the soup for more flavor. I'm sure I would have enjoyed it without the meat because it was very hearty, but I know my husband enjoys some type of meat in his soup. Anyway, it was real tasty and I look forward to making this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This soup was GREAT! I didn't have kale, so I just skipped it, and I used carnival squash instead of butternut. I'm sure it's great the way the recipe is written, but it's also very adaptable, so bonus points! I think it would also be good with some bacon sprinkled in it, too. I've never liked squash soups, usually they are too sweet for me, but this was just right. Definitely a keeper, a great soup for a chilly, rainy, autumn supper! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2010
Excellent!!!!!!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Christy83

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Seattle, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2010
This was a hearty, delicious, vegetarian soup! I upped a lot of the veggies- I used 1 large onion instead of 1 cup diced; 4 potatoes instead of 2, and 2 cans of beans instead of 1. I used the whole amount of vegetable broth, and threw some fresh basil leaves in there as well. Delicious! Served with crusty, French bread and a fall salad for a healthy, hearty meal.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2010
I really liked the flavor of this soup. I didn't want such a big pot of soup so I used 8 cups of water. That seemed like enough water for the amount of vegetables called for. I only had black beans so I rinsed them well and added them to the soup. It was good so I think thisa soup is fairly forgiving as to the type of beans you add. Excellent fall soup. Thnks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Swift Current, Saskatchewan, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2010
Thick, and creamy. We love it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 7, 2010
really tasty soup, i think it could use more potato, kale and squash. it's pretty brothy. but really, really good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 21-30 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States