Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great flavor, great ingredients, simple directions! This was a great recipe. I did tweak so I couldn't give it 5 stars as it stands, but I didn't change much so 4 stars it is. I blanched the potatoes (idaho) ahead of time and softened the squash by microwaving it under plastic wrap for about 10 minutes to make it easy to peel and chop. I used a can of drained, chopped greens instead of kale just because that is what I had on hand. Everything else was pretty much the same and my whole family loved it...even my very picky youngest son! Great winter meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I love having lots of veggies in the soup but even after only adding 10 cups of broth, the soup was too watery. Next time, I'll try 8 cups. I added more thyme and some rosemary which made the soup even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2011
It always amazes me that vegetables alone, with just a few seasonings, taste so delicious! This recipe is a winner, both tast wise and health wise. Although I don't agree with the boiling time (my veggies were almost overdone after 25 minutes), I didn't change a thing about the recipe except for reducing the broth by 2 cups and adding cabbage with the kale. What a wonderful way to get your vitamins! Thanks for sharing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by MOLLE888

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bethesda, Maryland, USA
Living In: Fairfax, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2011
Excellent recipe! Very easy to alter to suit your tastes and vegetables on hand. I reduced the vegetable oil to just 2T, added 1 1/2 cups mushrooms with the onion and garlic, omitted carrots and kale, and added about 1/2 the amount of beans. Also, for spices, added 3T fresh basil, 1/2 tsp nutmeg, and 1/4 tsp tumeric. Reduced the broth to 6 cups, and added 2 cups water. Also, only used 1/2 tsp salt. Delicious! Will be making this one again! One more tip: As other reviewers recommend, I pierced the squash all over with a fork and roasted it whole for an hour at 400 F.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Reviewed: Jul. 17, 2011
This is so delicious and healthy. I found this recipe by doing an ingredient search for kale. I don't like the taste but wanted to add it to my diet. I can't even taste it in this soup. I accidentally used 8 cups of vegetable broth (bad math) and, fortunately, it seemed to be the perfect amount. I will definitely make this again. A great way to get some colorful veggies into your diet.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 22, 2011
OMG this soup is phenomenal!!! I just made it today for the first time and the only thing I added was ground chipotle pepper for some kick. I used probably close to a tablespoon, but for those who don't like a lot of spice you don't have to use so much. I added it when I was sauteing the onions and garlic so that it adds some smokiness to the flavoring. Super yummy. I finished it off with some crunchy baguette bread broiled with some olive oil and I have to admit it's a super addicting dish. This is one for the books!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2011
This soup was awesome! The Kale is a lovely touch (healthy and colorful) if you use about 3 cups. Make sure you simmer for about 15 more minutes or it may be more bitter. I added canned diced tomatoes and it was just perfect!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 16, 2011
I only added 2 cups of Kale... I didn't want to take a risk of ruining the soup with such a bitter green. The soup tastes SO GOOD, but you'll have to wait until the very end to rate this one. PLEASE DO NOT IGNORE THE FINAL STEP. HOLD DOWN THE LID WITH A CLOTH! You may want someone with muscles doing this one. I thought the lid of my blender would be able to handle it... Let's just say, I had to add 15 min to the recipe because of extra cleaning time. Excuse me while I go have a shower!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 14, 2011
I'm not one to (successfully) alter a recipe, but here's what I did to make this soup even tastier: 10 cups of broth instead of 12, added a can of garbanzo beans, a couple more potatoes, a large sweet potato, and eliminated the kale. Used the stick blender for a few pulses so it was creamy but still chunky. Oh.My.Gosh. SO GOOD and it makes so much that I was able to eat it almost all week long!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 16, 2011
It was really good. I chose not to puree the soup and i like d it better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 42) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States