Butternut Vegetable Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Oct. 16, 2014
Excellent flavor!! I used sweet potatoes instead of squash, and cut back on the broth, since my husband likes thicker soup.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
This soup is great. I found it to be a little under seasoned so I added a bit of nutmeg and curry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 3, 2012
This was a very yummy and easy to modify recipe. Instead of vegetable broth, I used some ham broth that I made up with some smoked ham hocks that I had in my freezer. I also used dried beans instead of canned, let them soak over night and then added them with everything else. I started this on the stove and then moved it to a crock pot and let it finish cooking a little longer because of the beans. Made some ham and beans with the rest of the broth and ham. Now I have my freezer stocked with some great soups! Thanks Kathy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2012
I made this with a few alterations to increase the health value. I made it with no oil, placed all the ingredients in the crock pot, except the salt which I added just before serving. I also used dried great northern beans that I rinsed prior to adding. I cooked it all day on high and everything was beautifully cooked and delicious. Since we eat vegan I used a vegan chicken flavored broth powder instead of the veggie broth (since I did not have any) and thought it made a nice complement to the other flavors.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2012
So delicious. I made this because I needed to do something with a bunch a kale. I thougt this looked healthy. I never thought it would be so good. I added some fresh basil, parsley, oregano, and green onions also. The whole family loved it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 20, 2012
This was pretty good. I liked the butternut and all the vegetables in it. It was hard to assemble though. I think we overcooked it the butternut squash. The recipe was also a little bit too sweet for our tastes
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2012
Delicious! I added a rutabaga, used a peeled baking potato in place of the red potatoes -- roasted all the veggies in the oven after tossing with olive oil and herbes de provence then added them to the broth -- also added a can of big lima beans with the northern beans -- threw in about 1/2 TBSP more herbes de provence near the end.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2012
I made this today and it was awesome! I for 8 servings and used a little less broth than on the recipe; I also used chicken broth instead of vegetable broth and pinto beans instead of the northern beans because that all I had. It came out great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 13, 2012
Great flavor, great ingredients, simple directions! This was a great recipe. I did tweak so I couldn't give it 5 stars as it stands, but I didn't change much so 4 stars it is. I blanched the potatoes (idaho) ahead of time and softened the squash by microwaving it under plastic wrap for about 10 minutes to make it easy to peel and chop. I used a can of drained, chopped greens instead of kale just because that is what I had on hand. Everything else was pretty much the same and my whole family loved it...even my very picky youngest son! Great winter meal!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BamaMomof3

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Clermont, Florida, USA
Living In: Atmore, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 5, 2011
I love having lots of veggies in the soup but even after only adding 10 cups of broth, the soup was too watery. Next time, I'll try 8 cups. I added more thyme and some rosemary which made the soup even better.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Quick and Easy Vegetable Soup

See how to make a healthy, super-simple vegetable soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States