Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 2, 2014
The end result was very good. I tried the dish a couple of times while cooking, and found it to be very bland at first. A little more salt and the pecans were the final touches that it needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 10, 2014
Amazingly easy, impressively tasty. Even my semi-picky son loved it. I've made it twice now, and the only thing I've done differently (based on other reviews) was to add a little brown sugar and vanilla. I'll be making this often. Thanks for a great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cecefltrn

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA
Living In: Cranberry Township, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
I love this recipe. I make it every Thanksgiving and always get great reviews. I always use fresh parsley and sometimes sub with walnuts if I don't have pecans. Easy to make.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 28, 2013
This was exactly what I was looking for..an easy and delicious recipe for my favorite squash. I omitted the parsley but did not miss it. I will be making this again and again. Thanks Christine L.!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2013
I think this recipe is great. Make sure not to overcook the squash and cut the onions up pretty well. Since I am paleo-dieting, I used olive oil in place of the butter. For presentation, I like to cut the squash into circles or half moons, instead of just cubes, but it doesn't matter taste-wise. I put probably a half teaspoon each of salt and pepper in there. I used walnuts because I didn't have pecans. I also didn't weigh my squash, I just used one squash, however much that is. But everything turned out great, and I don't even really like squash, I was just trying it because I am trying to save money on paleo food and squash isn't too expensive. But this was so good, I couldn't stop eating it!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by *~Lissa~*
Reviewed: Dec. 28, 2012
I followed the other reviews that mentioned the ease of par-cooking the squash in the microwave before adding it to sauteed onions. I tasted the recipe after seasoning as directed and it was good, but I decided to add cayenne and cinnamon as others suggested and it put it over the top! I made this when my parents were over and it was well-liked around the table! Will make again with the cinnamon and cayenne for sure!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by *~Lissa~*

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Attleboro, Massachusetts, USA
Living In: Cobb, California, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 20, 2012
I find it hard to measure ingredients by pounds, so I used 3 cups of mashed squash to 1/3 cup of onions. I toasted the pecans in the micro wave but almost burned them.It was quite wet looking, so I baked it in the oven. My family realy liked it. I will probably make it again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Salt Lake City, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2012
Worked well as a fall like veggie dish
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Lancaster, Ohio, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Thought this was good but as another reviewer suggested, I used 1/2 cup pecans. I tried the 1 cup and thought the nuts overwhelmed the great taste of the squash. I love butternut squash and want to taste the squash more than the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
YUM! I followed recipe, except used almonds since that is what I had on hand AND added 1 TBSP brown sugar. Will DEFINITELY make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 71) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Want to Grill Tonight?
Want to Grill Tonight?

Check out time-saving recipes, because any night’s a good night to grill.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States