Butternut Squash with Onions and Pecans Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 2)
Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2012
Thought this was good but as another reviewer suggested, I used 1/2 cup pecans. I tried the 1 cup and thought the nuts overwhelmed the great taste of the squash. I love butternut squash and want to taste the squash more than the nuts.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 18, 2011
YUM! I followed recipe, except used almonds since that is what I had on hand AND added 1 TBSP brown sugar. Will DEFINITELY make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by TIANAYUM

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2011
So good! Used pre-cubed butternut squash, brown sugar, craisins. Really, really good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 27, 2011
I didn't think 1 squash was enough for my crowd of 20 so I prepared 1 1/2 times the recipe (about 3 1/2 lbs of squash). That was WAY too much. The recipe was OK. I think you can cut the pecans, and I am a pecan fan...just too many. Also, it needed more flavor. at the last min I ended up adding some brown sugar and garlic salt. It was better...prob won't make again, there are other more appealing squash recipes out there...sorry!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2011
YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Squash so good that even my husband (who really dislikes squash) ate his fair share! Would certainly make this again!!! Love the crunch of the nuts!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Darcy Lee Madden

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Milford, Maine, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by naples34102
Reviewed: Apr. 20, 2011
Creative and delicious with a colorful, interesting presentation. Just added a little garlic salt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by naples34102

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Milwaukee, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Mequon, Wisconsin, USA
Reviewed: Mar. 10, 2011
Yum, definitely needs some brown sugar. Also, should be mashed and then add the toasted pecans. The textures are a lot better that way.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 14, 2011
Yum!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by debP

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Burrillville, Rhode Island, USA
Living In: Smithfield, Rhode Island, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 10, 2011
Wonderful recipe for squash! A great treat and anything with pecans works for my family. I served this to company and it was a huge hit.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 5, 2011
Besides preparing the squash (which is no small feat for a beginner), this dish was very easy and DELICIOUS! I made it over a month ago and my boyfriend is still raving about it. We ate it as the main course with a side salad, but next time I'll definitely make it as a side dish. I highly recommend it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Lisa Gatewood

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 11-20 (of 73) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Salsa from Mild to Wild
Salsa from Mild to Wild

Salsa is the fresh condiment you can make at home and put on everything.

Healthy, Delicious Recipes
Healthy, Delicious Recipes

Whether you're going low-carb, low fat, paleo, or gluten-free, we have recipes just for you.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Cakes

See how to make light and crispy squash cakes.

Butternut Squash Casserole

A creamy squash casserole with a custard-like texture and crunchy topping.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States