Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was pretty good. Certainly better than my husband expected. I mashed it with a potato masher before serving. I also added cream cheese. It make enough for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was a pretty good soup. I followed the recipe pretty closely - just added more veggies. I would have liked a little more flavor in the broth, but would still make it again - especially w/ so many turnips and butternut squash in my CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaylanoel
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This soup turned out fabulous ! This is a must try ppl ! I accidentally used 5 cups of chicken broth so i added cup and half of sliced carrots, and little more turnip.No worries, it turned out great! And I omitted the coriander. Be careful of adding too much cayenne and black pepper. You don't want this soup to taste too spicy. Thanks for sharing ! I will definitely make this recipe again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really enjoyed the soup. We pureed the soup,added a can of condensed milk and a pound of chorizo. This will definitely become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Instead of stock I used half beef broth and half white wine. And I left out the butter, honey and coriander. I didn't need salt either . It was delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was great for a cool night. Was looking for a Butternut Squash Soup recipe and found this one and since I had some turnips on hand, I decided to try. I read all the comments about adding curry or heavy cream, but I always like to try the recipe the way it calls for the first time. I must say, it was excellent! I don't know what anyone was talking about when they said it was bland. In no way bland, they must have done something wrong. I did use a hand blender at the end to about 75% of it. It had so much flavor, I will make again! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
It turned out great! I made it without celery but I browned some ground beef before adding in the vegetables to the skillet and it turned out delicious. This is also a good base and you could switch up different ingredients and it'll still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Made this tonight. Delicious!! I think next time I'll add a bit more cayenne, maybe omit the honey ... but it's delicious as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmh221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
So tasty and filling without being caloric! We omitted celery and added one large cubed apple. Delish! Will make again and again all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 23, 2013
I love this recipe! I have made it once with squash and once with sweet potato and both times the recipe turned out lovely. I'm always trying to find ways to use turnips and this is a keeper. My only suggestion is to try pureeing this once the veggies are soft as it blends all of the wonderful flavours together. Thank you!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Ardenia

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Winnipeg, Manitoba, Canada

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 39) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Healthy and Delicious
Healthy and Delicious

New for spring! Good-for-you food you’ll love to eat.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States