Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Not bad! I didn't measure my veg, but used one whole small squash and the 4 turnips I had. Following advice I added 4 oz cream cheese and buzzed this with the immersion blender before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I added Shitake mushrooms, b/c I love them, and this was a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kory Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I was looking for the butternut squash soup and came upon this one. We loved it, even took it to work for soup day today. Most people who like these kind of things really liked this soup. I might try to add some cubed cooked ham next time. Very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I can understand why some people would call this "Bland.” It does not have any flavors or ingredients that stand up and scream “TASTE ME!” This is a subtle, mildly flavored, harvest soup that will bring back memories of your Oma, if you had one. Try it as written or try it pureed as some have suggested. This IS comfort food without the calories. It reminds me of my Gangee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Wow! Absolutely loved it. Will make this a lot this winter and it was so easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was pretty good. Certainly better than my husband expected. I mashed it with a potato masher before serving. I also added cream cheese. It make enough for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was a pretty good soup. I followed the recipe pretty closely - just added more veggies. I would have liked a little more flavor in the broth, but would still make it again - especially w/ so many turnips and butternut squash in my CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaylanoel
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This soup turned out fabulous ! This is a must try ppl ! I accidentally used 5 cups of chicken broth so i added cup and half of sliced carrots, and little more turnip.No worries, it turned out great! And I omitted the coriander. Be careful of adding too much cayenne and black pepper. You don't want this soup to taste too spicy. Thanks for sharing ! I will definitely make this recipe again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really enjoyed the soup. We pureed the soup,added a can of condensed milk and a pound of chorizo. This will definitely become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Instead of stock I used half beef broth and half white wine. And I left out the butter, honey and coriander. I didn't need salt either . It was delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 44) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Turkey
Top Turkey

Choose from dozens of top-rated roast turkey recipes, from stuffed to deep-fried.

2014 Pie Countdown
2014 Pie Countdown

We're counting down from now until Thanksgiving with a great pie every day. Join the fun.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States