Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Wow! Absolutely loved it. Will make this a lot this winter and it was so easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was pretty good. Certainly better than my husband expected. I mashed it with a potato masher before serving. I also added cream cheese. It make enough for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was a pretty good soup. I followed the recipe pretty closely - just added more veggies. I would have liked a little more flavor in the broth, but would still make it again - especially w/ so many turnips and butternut squash in my CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaylanoel
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This soup turned out fabulous ! This is a must try ppl ! I accidentally used 5 cups of chicken broth so i added cup and half of sliced carrots, and little more turnip.No worries, it turned out great! And I omitted the coriander. Be careful of adding too much cayenne and black pepper. You don't want this soup to taste too spicy. Thanks for sharing ! I will definitely make this recipe again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2014
Really enjoyed the soup. We pureed the soup,added a can of condensed milk and a pound of chorizo. This will definitely become a regular at our house.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 6, 2014
Instead of stock I used half beef broth and half white wine. And I left out the butter, honey and coriander. I didn't need salt either . It was delicious! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 13, 2013
This was great for a cool night. Was looking for a Butternut Squash Soup recipe and found this one and since I had some turnips on hand, I decided to try. I read all the comments about adding curry or heavy cream, but I always like to try the recipe the way it calls for the first time. I must say, it was excellent! I don't know what anyone was talking about when they said it was bland. In no way bland, they must have done something wrong. I did use a hand blender at the end to about 75% of it. It had so much flavor, I will make again! No changes needed.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by keebdaisy

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Mobile, Alabama, USA
Living In: Orlando, Florida, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2013
It turned out great! I made it without celery but I browned some ground beef before adding in the vegetables to the skillet and it turned out delicious. This is also a good base and you could switch up different ingredients and it'll still be good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2013
Made this tonight. Delicious!! I think next time I'll add a bit more cayenne, maybe omit the honey ... but it's delicious as is!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by wmh221

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Jacksonville, Florida, USA
Living In: Birmingham, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 6, 2013
So tasty and filling without being caloric! We omitted celery and added one large cubed apple. Delish! Will make again and again all winter long.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: North Potomac, Maryland, USA
Living In: Atlanta, Georgia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 40) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States