Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Jul. 15, 2015
Made it as suggested and it was great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 11, 2015
I really liked this soup! I had never had turnips before and was given two giant ones from the neighbors garden. I didn't really measure the vegetables just chopped up one squash and one big turnip. I pureed half of it, but wished I would have left the chunky texture. I would definitely make this for guests as a first course. Thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Waukee, Iowa, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I had butternut squash and white turnips from my CSA share and I was clueless as to what to do with them. This soup filled the bill nicely. I enjoyed the soup, I would have given it four stars but my husband and kids were not nearly as enamored with it as I was. I guess this means it might not be the best choice for picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This worked really well. Made a great savory soup. I didn't have celery or coriander on hand but otherwise used just what it called for. Used veggie stock instead of chicken. Did blend it instead of doing it chunky but didn't end up adding any cream. The flavor was excellent! It is delicious with a dollop of Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Prior to making this soup I had made a butternut squash soup which is pureed-it has apples & Indian spices in it. I had leftover squash and I had turnips so I tried this soup. On it's own it is delicious, but I decided to combine the two soups and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I've never cooked turnips before and needed a recipe to try, so glad I came across this one! I did not have a butternut squash so I substituted delicata squash instead, also was out of honey so used agave in the same amount. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth but all the spices I used as written. When the soup was just about done I removed 2 cups of the vegetables then pureed the rest of the soup in the pot with my immersion blender, then added the 2 cups of veggies back in and simmered another 15-20 minutes. This was AWESOME, wonderfully sweet flavor! This soup looks impressive but was so easy to make. Will be making this many times more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bean3934

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Not bad! I didn't measure my veg, but used one whole small squash and the 4 turnips I had. Following advice I added 4 oz cream cheese and buzzed this with the immersion blender before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I added Shitake mushrooms, b/c I love them, and this was a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kory Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I was looking for the butternut squash soup and came upon this one. We loved it, even took it to work for soup day today. Most people who like these kind of things really liked this soup. I might try to add some cubed cooked ham next time. Very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 51) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Not The Same Old Chicken
Not The Same Old Chicken

We have so many top-rated chicken recipes, you'll never run out of dinner ideas again.

Slow Cooker Time Savers
Slow Cooker Time Savers

Imagine dinner making itself in the slow cooker while you relax or do other things.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States