Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Feb. 12, 2015
I had butternut squash and white turnips from my CSA share and I was clueless as to what to do with them. This soup filled the bill nicely. I enjoyed the soup, I would have given it four stars but my husband and kids were not nearly as enamored with it as I was. I guess this means it might not be the best choice for picky eaters.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 25, 2014
This worked really well. Made a great savory soup. I didn't have celery or coriander on hand but otherwise used just what it called for. Used veggie stock instead of chicken. Did blend it instead of doing it chunky but didn't end up adding any cream. The flavor was excellent! It is delicious with a dollop of Greek yogurt.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 18, 2014
Prior to making this soup I had made a butternut squash soup which is pureed-it has apples & Indian spices in it. I had leftover squash and I had turnips so I tried this soup. On it's own it is delicious, but I decided to combine the two soups and it was amazing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I've never cooked turnips before and needed a recipe to try, so glad I came across this one! I did not have a butternut squash so I substituted delicata squash instead, also was out of honey so used agave in the same amount. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth but all the spices I used as written. When the soup was just about done I removed 2 cups of the vegetables then pureed the rest of the soup in the pot with my immersion blender, then added the 2 cups of veggies back in and simmered another 15-20 minutes. This was AWESOME, wonderfully sweet flavor! This soup looks impressive but was so easy to make. Will be making this many times more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bean3934

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Not bad! I didn't measure my veg, but used one whole small squash and the 4 turnips I had. Following advice I added 4 oz cream cheese and buzzed this with the immersion blender before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I added Shitake mushrooms, b/c I love them, and this was a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kory Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I was looking for the butternut squash soup and came upon this one. We loved it, even took it to work for soup day today. Most people who like these kind of things really liked this soup. I might try to add some cubed cooked ham next time. Very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I can understand why some people would call this "Bland.” It does not have any flavors or ingredients that stand up and scream “TASTE ME!” This is a subtle, mildly flavored, harvest soup that will bring back memories of your Oma, if you had one. Try it as written or try it pureed as some have suggested. This IS comfort food without the calories. It reminds me of my Gangee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Wow! Absolutely loved it. Will make this a lot this winter and it was so easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 49) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Celebrate Spring Salads
Celebrate Spring Salads

The most-tender new vegetables are here just in time for early spring salads!

Hearty Potato Soups
Hearty Potato Soups

Creamy, comforting potato soups will warm you up.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States