Butternut Squash and Turnip Soup Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Dec. 16, 2014
Very tasty, will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Amissville, Virginia, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 11, 2014
I've never cooked turnips before and needed a recipe to try, so glad I came across this one! I did not have a butternut squash so I substituted delicata squash instead, also was out of honey so used agave in the same amount. I used vegetable broth instead of chicken broth but all the spices I used as written. When the soup was just about done I removed 2 cups of the vegetables then pureed the rest of the soup in the pot with my immersion blender, then added the 2 cups of veggies back in and simmered another 15-20 minutes. This was AWESOME, wonderfully sweet flavor! This soup looks impressive but was so easy to make. Will be making this many times more!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bean3934

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 21, 2014
Not bad! I didn't measure my veg, but used one whole small squash and the 4 turnips I had. Following advice I added 4 oz cream cheese and buzzed this with the immersion blender before serving.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2014
I added Shitake mushrooms, b/c I love them, and this was a great soup!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Kory Mitchell

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2014
I was looking for the butternut squash soup and came upon this one. We loved it, even took it to work for soup day today. Most people who like these kind of things really liked this soup. I might try to add some cubed cooked ham next time. Very tasty though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 19, 2014
I can understand why some people would call this "Bland.” It does not have any flavors or ingredients that stand up and scream “TASTE ME!” This is a subtle, mildly flavored, harvest soup that will bring back memories of your Oma, if you had one. Try it as written or try it pureed as some have suggested. This IS comfort food without the calories. It reminds me of my Gangee.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Wellsboro, Pennsylvania, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 19, 2014
Wow! Absolutely loved it. Will make this a lot this winter and it was so easy to put together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 12, 2014
This was pretty good. Certainly better than my husband expected. I mashed it with a potato masher before serving. I also added cream cheese. It make enough for 4.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 26, 2014
This was a pretty good soup. I followed the recipe pretty closely - just added more veggies. I would have liked a little more flavor in the broth, but would still make it again - especially w/ so many turnips and butternut squash in my CSA.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Kaylanoel
Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2014
This soup turned out fabulous ! This is a must try ppl ! I accidentally used 5 cups of chicken broth so i added cup and half of sliced carrots, and little more turnip.No worries, it turned out great! And I omitted the coriander. Be careful of adding too much cayenne and black pepper. You don't want this soup to taste too spicy. Thanks for sharing ! I will definitely make this recipe again !!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 46) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

The Season’s Best Sides
The Season’s Best Sides

Complete the meal with your favorite holiday side dishes.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Butternut Squash Soup

See how to make a versatile squash soup.

Shortcut Squash Soup

Follow these simple shortcuts for delicious butternut squash soup.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States