Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My husband LOVES this recipe. I made it as suggested but I used fresh corn off the cob instead of hominy. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Sugarplum
Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2013
I really loved this chili! I thought it sounded odd to put squash in chili but the sweetness from the squash really combined well with the spice. I had two small butternut squash that I grew in my garden that I used. I had never tried hominy before and thought it added some nice flavor. A delicious and also very healthy chili that I would make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Sugarplum

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Sep. 12, 2013
This was great! So good, the company loved it, and my 2 picky toddlers loved it. I can't handle hot or even medium hot taste, so I reduced the chilli powder by 1/3 the amount and reduced the chopped green chilies by 1/2. It was very mild, I'll use the whole amount of chopped green chilies next time. I also could not purchase canned hominy, so I substituted the same amount of frozen yellow corn in its place. Served it with a side of nachos for scooping, sprinkled with low-fat shredded cheddar cheese and non-fat plain greek style yogurt. Loved it! Will make again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 9, 2013
I didn't change anything about this recipe. I love the combination of ingredients and how filling it is. It's my fiance's favorite dish and he asks me to make it all the time. Goes great with whole grain tortilla chips and a little sour cream on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 20, 2013
The first time I made this chili was on the 4th of July. It was awesome! I'm making again today and haven't changed a thing!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 7, 2013
I make this chili about once a month. I love it. I don't add the beans or the hominy and just add a little celery salt to add the little bit more seasoning it needs. It's a great recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 6, 2013
A good basic chili, but you can't even taste the butternut squash. Big waste of a delicious squash. I would recommend just adding a second can of beans for filler. You'll save a lot of time.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 30, 2013
Best recipe EVER an all time favorite in our house. Love it just as is although I am heavy handed with the seasoning!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 23, 2013
Added a can of black beans in addition to the kidney beans. More garlic, doubled the chili powder, and added 2 Tsp. chipotle powder. Used a can of jalapenos instead of green chilis for more heat. Used a can of corn instead of hominy. Served with jalapeno corn bread. Healthy when made with ground turkey, but I think it would be REALLY tasty with ground beef. :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2013
Very different chili recipe. Followed the recipe except I added some parsnips and a carrot. Very delicious. I will definitly make this again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Subscribe Today!

In Season

Chicken On the Grill
Chicken On the Grill

Something about the grill's heat brings out the best flavor in the simplest chicken recipe.

Summer Desserts
Summer Desserts

We have over 700 dessert recipes just for summer fun.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States