Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 5)
Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was the best chili I've ever made! Even my kids loved it! Honestly I thought the idea of adding butternut squash seemed.... gross. Its DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I tried this as a base for mixing two recipes, so I had a few variations, but my family absolutely loved it: I used black beans instead of white, and pureed 1/2 of a butternut squash (as my hubby had questions about squash in chili -- he's not a squash fan.) I also added red and green peppers (cooked with the onion and garlic) half a bag of frozen corn, dried cilantro and a couple dried bay leaves, and 3 spring (green) onions. No tomato sauce or hominy. No salt at all (there's enough in the canned beans and tomatoes). Yes black and cayenne pepper, and in fact a little too much of it. That's where the puree came in handy. I'd only used half of the puree at first, but when I got heavy-handed on the pepper, I used the other half to calm the heat, and it worked beautifully. It was still spicy, but calm enough for my 6 year old to eat. As cooked, it was a little too soupy for my taste but paired with brown rice or quinoa, it made a very delicious and hardy meal. A very large pot did not last very long with only 3 people in the house. This is one of those dishes that tastes better the second day when all the spices come together. Also, because it is great topped with sour cream or avocado (more heat reducers) you can make it as spicy as you wish, and let individuals add toppings to suit their heat sensitivities. Served with cornbread, this dish was golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious on a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Yowza! This was fabulous! The major change I made was to throw everything into a crock pot and let it simmer all day on high. Also, I did cut the squash into smaller cubes than the recipe called for. Skipped the garlic salt as A) hubby needs to watch his salt intake, and B) since there is already fresh garlic in the recipe, garlic salt seemed redundant. Will definitely make this again, and may try adding a second can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by cpwarner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Terrific recipe. Served with Grandma's cornbread from this site. Filling & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love this recipe! I have been looking for something to use my home canned butternut squash in besides another sweet soup and this was excellent. Good flavor, very filling with the hominy and beans. The only change I made was I used black beans and drained them - otherwise, I made it as published. I served it with a little grated cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I make this chili and think it is fantastic. It has a great bright flavor just as it is. I sometimes use corn instead of hominy and I like the lighter taste of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
OMG! This might be the best chili I have ever eaten! I'm not sure I would call it chili but whatever you call it it is wonderful! I made a very few changes per readers suggestions by using allspice(which I must say really adds a lovely flavor to this dish!), I also used a can of pureed sweet potatoes as a thickener & I used canned tomatoes with chilies in it, I also caramelized some of the squash just because I thought it would be yummy - other than that I followed the directions as written. I will be serving this to company tomorrow evening .... hope they love it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Great recipe! thanks for sharing. I read all the reviews before actually cooking & decided that concensus was to add 'more flavour through spices' When buying the diced toamtoes, I chose to use Alymer's flavours (ie: garlic & olive oil OR Roasted red peppers, etc) I took the advice of using a tomato paste instead of the sauce.... which was a great suggestion for added thickness....in fact I used an herb infused tomato paste! For me, you can never have enough garlic...I added some extra garlic also (can use roasted for a more robust flavour also!) to perfect this the next time I make it, I will be adding 2 lbs of ground turkey, instead of only 1 ENJOY!! OHHHH I also added yellow Zucchini ....so this recipe is a great spot for extra veggies in fridge that need to be used :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have ground turkey so I used Italian sausage instead. It turned out great. Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 41-50 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States