Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Sep. 28, 2014
I added 1 1/2 TBS of All Spice and 1 1/2 tsp of cinnamon. I followed the other person's suggestion about throwing the squash in the oven and cutting the squash smaller. I wish I would have cooked it even longer because I let it simmer for 50 minutes and the squash still wasn't very soft.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Ann Arbor, Michigan, USA
Living In: San Diego, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Aug. 9, 2014
Simple and delicious! Been wanting new recipes for butternut squash and this is great! Since I didn't have kidney beans and hominy in pantry I fortunately has a can of southwestern bean salad. It has black beans, corn, hominy, and kidney beans all in one can! Awesome. Highly recommend trying this super easy recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 29, 2014
This was a nice twist on chili. I changed it just a bit, omitting salt, hominy and garlic salt. Added green peppers, used only 1 can to
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jun. 1, 2014
Very Good. I made as written with the exception of the beans (I used black beans). I love that it is Healthy and taste delish!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Waldorf, Maryland, USA
Living In: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 19, 2014
Delicious! Great way to use butternut squash. I added some sliced jalapenos for a bit more kick.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 2, 2014
I left out the hominy due to eating grain free. I generally don't like chili, but this was delicious! Another keeper!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 16, 2014
Great recipe and a nice change from the same ol' chili recipe. The only thing I'd change/add is some green, red, and/or yellow peppers. Other than that it's great just the way it is.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 22, 2014
The squash and hominy were two really good chili additions that I haven't had before. Also, it was great the next day which is a true sign of yummy chili.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Columbus, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by shaejvanilla
Reviewed: Feb. 11, 2014
Excellent dish!! Instead of using butternut squash, I used chayote instead. I didn't use regular squash because I didn't want everything too mushy. The chayote is just right!! I also used ground turkey instead of ground turkey breast and it still cane out amazing (; I have a cold so this dish was much needed!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Tucson, Arizona, USA
Living In: Biloxi, Mississippi, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 28, 2014
I wasn't sure how we'd like this chili, but it was delicious! I did make a few changes: I drained the beans and didn't add the liquid, but I added more chicken broth, instead. I didn't add hominy, but used chick peas. Corn would have been good, too, I think. My hubby loved the spice; I would cut it back a bit. Perfect meal for a sub-zero day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 179) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

It’s Ghouls’ Night Out
It’s Ghouls’ Night Out

Get cute n’ creepy recipes to feed all your little monsters.

Allrecipes Cooking School
Allrecipes Cooking School

It’s everything you need to cook your best. Learn more about Allrecipes Cooking School.

Football Food for the Win
Football Food for the Win

All the game-day eats you need to crush the tailgate competition.

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States