Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Photo by Cooknmama2
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was awesome! I forgot the chilis and omitted the hominy because I didn't have it, but it was still amazing. Next time I will try the hominy and serve the chilis as a garnish. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I was amazed at how well this turned out. this is a great autumn chili! I made a few changes based on what I had around. Instead of chilies, I just added one serrano pepper, and cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes to keep it spicy. I also added allspice, and it *really* brought everything together. i left out the tomatoes, added more beans (I don't like chunky tomato bits). really though, i really think the allspice made it FABULOUS. my boyfriend doesnt much care for ground turkey or squash, but he loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
91 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Great chili! I used the green chilies as a garnish instead of cooking them in the chili. I just used the squash I had and cooked up a pound of dry beans. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is a great autumn chili! Like most chilis I think it gets better the next day. The squash was a new and exciting addition to chili, and is very welcome. I added a dash of salt and pepper and a 1/2 teaspoon of oregano for my own personal tastes. I can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was a really good chili. I did make a few changes, but not too many. I left out the hominy (b/c I am not a fan) and I exchanged the kidney beans for black beans. For peppers, I used fresh Anaheim peppers. This was great fresh and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe. Made for our Home Church group and it was a big hit!! Flavors and textures blend beautifully. I served with brown rice. Thank you for a great recipe! I will be making this often this winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 5, 2008
We loved this!! This is my new favorite chili. The only alterations I made were leaving out the chilis and using leftover pureed butternut squash instead of cubed squash (much easier this way, too). This gave the chili a nice thick and smooth consistency. This was my first time using hominy; I really liked it. We'll definitely be making this again very soon.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
21 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2009
Amen! This was great and quick. I had to break down squash and hominy and cook it a little longer than the recipe but when it mixed together it was just special. Nice job! Cooking is all about taking chances and being creative.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Dearborn, Michigan, USA
Living In: Desoto, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 4, 2009
This chili is basically a miracle, thank you for posting the recipe! Delicious, incredibly healthy, and fast. Easily vegetarian and easily modified for different tastes. This is now one of my stand-bys for parties, potlucks, and just cold days!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
22 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by jen

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 16, 2009
I made this once and followed the recipe almost exactly. The only annoying part was peeling the butternut squash. I was pretty slow at it. The chili turned out fantastic, though.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by bothpaninis
Home Town: Damascus, Maryland, USA
Living In: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Do Healthy Your Way
Do Healthy Your Way

Low-fat, low-carb, paleo, vegan. Get recipes for your lifestyle.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States