Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 1)
Reviewed: Apr. 21, 2008
This recipe has great flavor. I used black beans instead of kidney (because I didn't have them). I skipped the hominy as well. It didn't thicken up like I would expect a chili to do, but I'm not sure if that has to do with the ingredients I left out or not. I'm making this one again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
16 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2008
I like the idea of this chili but think the seasoning needs a little adjusting. I added a couple of bay leaves and some oregano and, if I make this again, I would cut back on the cumin probably by half. (One can always add more if it's not enough.)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
29 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2008
I was amazed at how well this turned out. this is a great autumn chili! I made a few changes based on what I had around. Instead of chilies, I just added one serrano pepper, and cayenne pepper and red pepper flakes to keep it spicy. I also added allspice, and it *really* brought everything together. i left out the tomatoes, added more beans (I don't like chunky tomato bits). really though, i really think the allspice made it FABULOUS. my boyfriend doesnt much care for ground turkey or squash, but he loved it too.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
89 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by kate

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by sueb
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2008
Great chili! I used the green chilies as a garnish instead of cooking them in the chili. I just used the squash I had and cooked up a pound of dry beans. Easy to make!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by sueb

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Prattville, Alabama, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 28, 2008
This is a great autumn chili! Like most chilis I think it gets better the next day. The squash was a new and exciting addition to chili, and is very welcome. I added a dash of salt and pepper and a 1/2 teaspoon of oregano for my own personal tastes. I can't wait to eat the leftovers!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by Cooknmama2
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2008
This was awesome! I forgot the chilis and omitted the hominy because I didn't have it, but it was still amazing. Next time I will try the hominy and serve the chilis as a garnish. Can't wait!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bridgewater, New Jersey, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2008
Very good - I used black beans instead of kidney, omitted the hominy, and added some more spice and it was a tasty autumn treat!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Underwood, Iowa, USA
Living In: Longmont, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 17, 2008
I think I was too excited based on the reviews. I was good, but not amazing. I am not sure if my squash was ripe enough though- I have never cooked with squash
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ashliediane

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Everett, Washington, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 19, 2008
This was a really good chili. I did make a few changes, but not too many. I left out the hominy (b/c I am not a fan) and I exchanged the kidney beans for black beans. For peppers, I used fresh Anaheim peppers. This was great fresh and even better the next day!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Isasmommy

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Austin, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 26, 2008
Excellent recipe. Made for our Home Church group and it was a big hit!! Flavors and textures blend beautifully. I served with brown rice. Thank you for a great recipe! I will be making this often this winter!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 1-10 (of 172) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Hop On Easter
Hop On Easter

Recipes for baked ham, deviled eggs, and oh-so-cute treats.

Fresh Spring Recipes
Fresh Spring Recipes

The best ways to enjoy what’s in season right now.

Subscribe Today!
Subscribe Today!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $9.99!

Related Videos

Butternut Squash Soup II

Showcase the delicious flavors of squash in this creamy, low-fat soup.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States