Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 7)
Reviewed: Oct. 20, 2012
OMG! This might be the best chili I have ever eaten! I'm not sure I would call it chili but whatever you call it it is wonderful! I made a very few changes per readers suggestions by using allspice(which I must say really adds a lovely flavor to this dish!), I also used a can of pureed sweet potatoes as a thickener & I used canned tomatoes with chilies in it, I also caramelized some of the squash just because I thought it would be yummy - other than that I followed the directions as written. I will be serving this to company tomorrow evening .... hope they love it as much as I do!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 19, 2012
Great recipe! thanks for sharing. I read all the reviews before actually cooking & decided that concensus was to add 'more flavour through spices' When buying the diced toamtoes, I chose to use Alymer's flavours (ie: garlic & olive oil OR Roasted red peppers, etc) I took the advice of using a tomato paste instead of the sauce.... which was a great suggestion for added thickness....in fact I used an herb infused tomato paste! For me, you can never have enough garlic...I added some extra garlic also (can use roasted for a more robust flavour also!) to perfect this the next time I make it, I will be adding 2 lbs of ground turkey, instead of only 1 ENJOY!! OHHHH I also added yellow Zucchini ....so this recipe is a great spot for extra veggies in fridge that need to be used :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 14, 2012
Great recipe! I didn't have ground turkey so I used Italian sausage instead. It turned out great. Very tasty and easy.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 5, 2012
Loved it! I didn't have any hominy so I threw a can of butter beans in there instead. Was still great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Wow, easy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made this two weeks in a row because it is satisfying and warming. I did add black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Great mix of ingredients! I didn't think that I liked ground Turkey before this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
this chili is amazing. My entire family of picky eaters love it. I make it very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I made it with acorn squash instead of butternut, black beans instead of kidney, a few large sprigs of rosemary, and added the allspice. I definitely second the allspice idea, and would personally add more squash next time. Wonderfully non-traditional chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I softened the squash for 15 mins in the oven at 400 degrees before peeling. I did agree that it needed to be cut into 1/2" pieces. I did boil the squash seperately for 10 mins to ensure it got soft. This lacked flavor so I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and it made it closer to 5 stars. I really enjoyed the squash and did not find it too sweet. I used tomato sauce as directed and it worked fine. I did not feel the broth needed to be increased. The hominy worked perfectly. I cut down the cumin to 1/2 TBS and it was still pretty potent. With adjustments this is worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 61-70 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Top Dessert Recipes
Top Dessert Recipes

Rated, reviewed, and ready to satisfy your sweet cravings.

Best Party Recipes
Best Party Recipes

Essential eats, sips, and tips for your next gathering.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States