Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: May 26, 2010
Very pleased with this! I could not find hominy in the store and as a result I had to put in plain corn niblets. I will make this a regular recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 13, 2010
Good. My biggest disappointment was that the squash wasn't more of a dominant taste. We love butternut squash but could barely taste it in the chili - it tasted basically just like regular chili. I think that tomato paste would have been a better fit than sauce, but overall the flavor was good. I upped the spices, added red pepper, oregano, and sage. I also diced and roasted the squash first, hoping that the nice caramelized flavor would come through in the chili, but like I said, it disappeared among the beans and meat. However, a good way to use up extra squash, particularly for non-squash eaters! I would definitely make this again, but not waste all the time caramelizing the squash.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Apr. 12, 2010
fabulous and healthy.... I added a bit more turkey but otherwise it was great. There was a good spice balance.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 24, 2010
AWESOME! We loved it. I was introducing my picky family to Butternut Squash. They ate it! I can't believe it! It was so delicious, this is now added to my recipe box! Yay!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 23, 2010
This is by far one of our favorite soup recipes!!!! The butternut squash gives it a sweet flavor
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 25, 2010
I tried my darndest to actually follow the recipe on this one, but some substitutions ended up being necessary. Nothing too detrimental, I think: I used yellow hominy instead of white (I've never had white and neither has my store; yellow was fine) and pureed squash (also an availability issue). I think the recipe would probably be better as originally written, with chunks of squash, but the puree worked in a pinch. I used the full amount of all spices and found the seasoning right on, although I did add a pinch of salt to the turkey as it cooked. I do think the chili could have been a little thicker, and might try cooking it uncovered for part of the time on the next go-round; I also think it could have been a bit spicier, but that's a personal preference issue. Next time, I'll probably substitue jalapenos for the green chili. All in all, good, easy and healthy - thanks for the recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Allrecipes

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: New Paltz, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 31, 2010
Delicious and so good for you! I added 2 diced red bell peppers,lots of extra seasoning (I like it spicy :) and an extra can of tomatoes (stewed). I was unsure about the hominy, but it was phenomenonal! BTW red bell peppers are a must! Thanks for sharing
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Samantha715

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rhinelander, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Morro Bay, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 12, 2010
Loved, loved, loved it! To fit it to what I had on hand I did 1 c. beef broth instead of the chicken, 1 qt. home-canned tomatoes instead of the 2 cans, and abt. 1/2 c. frozen white corn instead of hominy. I also used 1/2 a red pepper, small diced and sauteed it with the onion/garlic. I think it gave it a sweet flavor. Also only added 2 tsp. cumin so it wasn't too overpowering for the kids...it was perfect. I loved the butternut squash--it made it look beautiful and added extra nutrition. I didn't weigh my squash (I just have LOTS from my garden) but decided a half of a medium-size one was plenty. This is our preferred chili recipe now...Thanks!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jana

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: West Jordan, Utah, USA
Living In: Kaysville, Utah, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 4, 2010
This is surprisingly tasty. I was concerned about how it would turn out when I smelled the tomatoes in the pot with the turkey. The character of the smell changed entirely when I added allspice as recommended by another reviewer, and I'm so glad I used that suggestion! I also used shredded turkey I had leftover from a whole roasted turkey. I will try it with ground turkey next time just for comparison.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by KIMALA

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Skokie, Illinois, USA
Living In: Fort Collins, Colorado, USA
Reviewed: Dec. 29, 2009
This was really good! I didn't make any changes to the recipe and it came out great. The butternut squash adds a bit of sweetness to the chili, so no sugar is necessary unless you like sweet chili. We ate this as a meal with homemade tortilla chips and I would say it serves about 6 servings. Very hearty and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by tigrrrl

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Guilt-Free Munchies
Guilt-Free Munchies

Get healthier takes on your favorite between-meal snacks.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States