Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 12)
Reviewed: Dec. 15, 2010
Delicious, quick and so easy! I did make a couple of changes: I couldn't find hominy so I pureed some corn; I used half chili powder, half smoked chipotle powder; I used 1.5 teas. of ground cumin instead of a full tbsp; and I didn't have garlic salt, so I added 1/2 tsp celery salt and 1/2 teas. garlic powder. I used a leftover roasted acorn squash which was mashed. This was one of the best chilis I've ever had, and definitely the best I've ever made. It was nice and thick - I didn't need to add the chicken broth. The flavors had depth and balance and it tasted like it had cooked all day instead of
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Dec. 1, 2010
By my estimation this recipe is fantastic. I can't say for certain because of the changes I made. I used more garlic, 1 28oz jar of tomato sauce instead of the original tomato ingredients, I used leftover turkey instead of ground turkey, borrowed another reviewers suggestion to substitute canned corn for hominy, and I used freshly cooked beans instead of canned. I think the cumin- chili powder- garlic salt proportions are fine as is. It's got pep; however, it's a pleasant zing, not too pungent or hot. (Jalapenos are kinda hot for me. Habaneros are almost too hot for me to eat ever unless they are teamed up with something to counteract the capsicin. I say this to help define 'not too hot', the 'heat' level for this was like mild to medium salsa.) I had to extend the cooking time to account for the non canned beans, and I added the turkey (cubed) about halfway through to prevent drying out. When I made it the recipe filled an 8qt stock pot (1 lb of kidney beans and a lot of leftover turkey is probably why). My family was unanimous in their approval of the chili/ stew. I will definitely make this again in the future.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
23 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mrs. Jason

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Silver Spring, Maryland, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 14, 2010
i added corn it was great
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Beginning

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by ROSIESTOES
Reviewed: Nov. 10, 2010
This was absolutely delicious. My very favorite chile! After looking at the reviews I used4 cloves of garlic, a full can for fat free chicken broth, added a tsp of allspice and mixed in a little corn starch milk mixure. Cooked about 35 minutes. Yummy. This is a definate keeper and will go in on my fall/winter rotation.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ROSIESTOES

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Prescott, Arizona, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 9, 2010
This chili is delicious, and healthy! I added 1 tsp all spice (suggested by another reviewer) and she is right--it does tie all the flavors together and gives it a nice, holiday-sweet flavor. Bonus: this recipe is super easy to make and impossible to mess up!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
4 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 8, 2010
May be the absolute best chili I have ever made! Fabulous recipe as written.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by BK
Reviewed: Nov. 6, 2010
Really enjoyed this! I took the advice of several others and increased the garlic - I used 4 cloves. Instead of hominy I used chili beans because I had them on hand. I also increased the chicken broth to 1 1/4 c. because I didn't feel like there was enough liquid to get the squash cooked - and I added a little cornstarch mixture at the end to help thicken a little since I used the extra liquid. Super good and I'll be making this again, soon!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by BK

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2010
Excellent! I made this with beef instead of turkey, used 2 cans of rotel tomatoes instead of the tomatoes and green chilis, and substituted one can of chili beans for the hominy. SO good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by rachelley_01

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2010
Really enjoyed this recipe. I thought the squash would be a little strange in a chili but I was pleasantly surprised. My non-squash eating husband liked it too! I used a can of white beans and a can of black beans in place of the kidney -- didn't have any on hand. Also, used vegetable broth in place of chicken - again, that is what I had in the pantry. Will absolutely make again. Thanks for the recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Photo by jojosmarty
Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2010
My entire family enjoyed this chili, however, I did add 1 sweet potato, an extra can of fire-roasted tomatoes, and 1 can of northern white beans (did not add hominy) and can of corn. I baked the butternut squash & sweet potato first, then added to chili. See picture #4. We will definitely save this recipe and make it again in the near future. Very easy and great for a fall night.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 111-120 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Passover Celebration
Passover Celebration

Celebrate Passover with Jewish main dishes, desserts, and traditional holiday foods.

Easter Lamb, Ham, and More
Easter Lamb, Ham, and More

Choose your Easter dinner main dish from hams, savory lamb, and over 150 more recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States