Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 9)
Reviewed: Feb. 18, 2011
Love this!!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 15, 2011
Different. I enjoyed it - my husband did not. I followed the recipe just as is. Next time I think I'll use more spices - it seemed just a tad bland.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
13 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Mother Ann

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Streetsboro, Ohio, USA
Living In: Ravenna, Ohio, USA
Reviewed: Feb. 9, 2011
ONE OF MY ALL TIME FAVORITES ON THIS SITE. Two additional comments: 1. Must cut the butternut squash up into pretty small pieces (I like mine smaller than a 1/2 inch cubed) and cook for a while. 2. MUST MUST MUST garnish with cilantro (if you are a cilantro lover) and eat with avocado. It completely steps the dish up to another level.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2011
Our family loved this dish. Even my picky 2 year old twins enjoyed it! It was filling and incredibly tasty. I'm from Alberta and I couldn't find hominy anywhere - so I omitted it. I also used white kidney beans for a change and increased the amount of chicken stock to 1 cup. We are all looking forward to leftovers tomorrow!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 6, 2011
This was a great chili however, because I do not care for ground turkey, next time I will use ground chuck. I took the other reviewers advice and added more chicken broth and oregano. I also used a potato as well....It was delish! Thanks for the recipe...: )
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
15 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by angelise

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rockford, Illinois, USA
Living In: Loves Park, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 3, 2011
This was fantastic! It's now one of my favorite soups! I couldn't stop eating it! My whole family loves it too! I didn't use hominy as we don't have it in our area except for one brand and it was nasty so I used frozen corn. I also used black beans as we like those better than kidney beans and this came out amazing! Will be making this often! thanks so much for posting this recipe!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
5 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 21, 2011
This was a great recipe...full of flavor and very healthy! Instead of buying separate cans of green chile peppers and diced tomatos I just used two cans of diced tomatos with green chiles. I also added some all spice per others suggestions. I cooked it on a low simmer for about an hour, this allowed the flavors to really come together.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
8 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 20, 2011
Family really enjoyed this one! I did use yellow hominy and chili beans instead of kidney and then reduced the amount of chili powder by about 1/3. Served with cheese and crackers but normally would have made corn meal muffins. It was great!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
6 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I really enjoyed this chili but made many changes based on previous reviewers. Here they are: I precooked the butternut squash at 400 for about 15 minutes before adding it to the soup. 1 can of corn instead of hominy. Added allspice, oregano, and more chili powder to taste. Added a bay leaf. 1 c. chicken broth (instead of 1/2). 2 diced fresh tomatoes instead of canned. 3 cloves garlic (instead of 2). No chilies. 1/2 T. cumin. Used garlic powder instead of garlic salt. To cut the sodium, I rinsed and drained the corn and beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
12 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: San Jose, California, USA
Living In: Sunnyvale, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 19, 2011
I substituted 1 can of black beans and 1 can of pinto beans for the Kidney beans. I also used diced tomatoes with jalapenos that I found at Kroger. I only used one can of tomato sauce. I used to small cans of green chiles. This was FABULOUS! Even my picky 8 year old loved it! I served it with shredded jack cheese, sour cream, and crushed corn chips. This is my newest favorite recipe!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
7 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by ChefGinger

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 81-90 (of 177) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

 Quick & Easy Grilling
Quick & Easy Grilling

Easy weeknight dinners, ready in a flash.

Fresh Summer Meals
Fresh Summer Meals

Enjoy the bright days of summer with easy recipes.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States