Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 8)
Reviewed: Sep. 30, 2012
Wow, easy and healthy!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Living In: Pueblo, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 21, 2012
I made this two weeks in a row because it is satisfying and warming. I did add black beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Neillsville, Wisconsin, USA
Living In: Sparta, Wisconsin, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 24, 2012
Great mix of ingredients! I didn't think that I liked ground Turkey before this recipe...
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 1, 2012
this chili is amazing. My entire family of picky eaters love it. I make it very often.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: May 28, 2012
I made it with acorn squash instead of butternut, black beans instead of kidney, a few large sprigs of rosemary, and added the allspice. I definitely second the allspice idea, and would personally add more squash next time. Wonderfully non-traditional chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 27, 2012
I softened the squash for 15 mins in the oven at 400 degrees before peeling. I did agree that it needed to be cut into 1/2" pieces. I did boil the squash seperately for 10 mins to ensure it got soft. This lacked flavor so I added 1/4 tsp of cayenne pepper and it made it closer to 5 stars. I really enjoyed the squash and did not find it too sweet. I used tomato sauce as directed and it worked fine. I did not feel the broth needed to be increased. The hominy worked perfectly. I cut down the cumin to 1/2 TBS and it was still pretty potent. With adjustments this is worth making.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by imsomr

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 20, 2012
I doubled everything except the squash, chilies and diced tomatoes (I only had one can). I also used pinto beans instead of hominy. I added some cilantro as well. It came out great - even my kids ate it (including the squash which they thought were potatoes!)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Mar. 4, 2012
I initially cocked an eyebrow @ the butternut squash element. Well, shame on me. I've never had a better experience with the vegetable. (and, I've eaten my fair share of it) WOW! This is a favorite for me. Kudos! Love it.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Feb. 7, 2012
Wow, delicioius. Left out hominy and added chopped bell pepper. But neither were responsible for the fabulous taste. Thanks for sharing.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Sherman, Texas, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jan. 22, 2012
The entire family loved this chili!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 71-80 (of 191) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Easter Desserts
Easter Desserts

Bunny cakes, lamb cakes, chocolate eggs, and carrot cakes to nibble on.

Plan Your Easter Brunch
Plan Your Easter Brunch

Breakfast casseroles, drinks, fancy eggs, and brunch ideas for a sweet Easter event.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States