Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 6)
Reviewed: Dec. 4, 2012
I thought this was amazing! The only thing we really did different was drain the kidney beans and add a little more broth to replace the liquid that would have come from the beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Heidi Corcoran

Cooking Level: Beginning

Home Town: Lincoln, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 25, 2012
Awesome recipe! My hubbie doesn't like ground poultry or squash and he thought it was delicious, even my 17 month old enjoyed it! The only change I made was substituting cayenne pepper instead of the green chilies because I couldn't find it at the store. Other than that I followed the recipe bang on and wouldn't hesitate to make it exactly the same next time :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 12, 2012
The flavor of this soup is amazing. It is similar to the chili I make with my own tomato salsa. The last chili I made was with the Chili Seasoning Mix I and it was very bland. It must be the cumin the makes the taste so chili-like. I will definitely do this chili again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by VAZ123

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Rochelle, Illinois, USA
Living In: Rockford, Illinois, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 7, 2012
This was the best chili I've ever made! Even my kids loved it! Honestly I thought the idea of adding butternut squash seemed.... gross. Its DELISH!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 27, 2012
I tried this as a base for mixing two recipes, so I had a few variations, but my family absolutely loved it: I used black beans instead of white, and pureed 1/2 of a butternut squash (as my hubby had questions about squash in chili -- he's not a squash fan.) I also added red and green peppers (cooked with the onion and garlic) half a bag of frozen corn, dried cilantro and a couple dried bay leaves, and 3 spring (green) onions. No tomato sauce or hominy. No salt at all (there's enough in the canned beans and tomatoes). Yes black and cayenne pepper, and in fact a little too much of it. That's where the puree came in handy. I'd only used half of the puree at first, but when I got heavy-handed on the pepper, I used the other half to calm the heat, and it worked beautifully. It was still spicy, but calm enough for my 6 year old to eat. As cooked, it was a little too soupy for my taste but paired with brown rice or quinoa, it made a very delicious and hardy meal. A very large pot did not last very long with only 3 people in the house. This is one of those dishes that tastes better the second day when all the spices come together. Also, because it is great topped with sour cream or avocado (more heat reducers) you can make it as spicy as you wish, and let individuals add toppings to suit their heat sensitivities. Served with cornbread, this dish was golden.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Delicious on a cold rainy day.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Chris Arnberg
Reviewed: Oct. 22, 2012
Yowza! This was fabulous! The major change I made was to throw everything into a crock pot and let it simmer all day on high. Also, I did cut the squash into smaller cubes than the recipe called for. Skipped the garlic salt as A) hubby needs to watch his salt intake, and B) since there is already fresh garlic in the recipe, garlic salt seemed redundant. Will definitely make this again, and may try adding a second can of beans.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Paula Warner

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
Terrific recipe. Served with Grandma's cornbread from this site. Filling & delicious.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I love this recipe! I have been looking for something to use my home canned butternut squash in besides another sweet soup and this was excellent. Good flavor, very filling with the hominy and beans. The only change I made was I used black beans and drained them - otherwise, I made it as published. I served it with a little grated cheese on top.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 21, 2012
I make this chili and think it is fantastic. It has a great bright flavor just as it is. I sometimes use corn instead of hominy and I like the lighter taste of that.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 51-60 (of 185) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Christmas Dinner
Christmas Dinner

Magnificent main dishes for your holiday table are here, from roast beef to a Christmas goose.

Christmas Appetizers
Christmas Appetizers

Dozens and dozens of appetizers perfect for the winter season.

Special Holiday Offer!
Special Holiday Offer!

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $5!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States