Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 4)
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2013
I'm appreciating butternut squash for the first time, thanks to this recipe. Before this, my attitude was always, "it's squash season. Sigh." Now, we are all excited about squash in our family, even my seven-year-old.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2013
I made this chili for a Halloween potluck. It was really yummy. I didnt include the ground turkey, for a veggie colleague. I left out the green chilies(didn't have them) and substituted garlic powder for the garlic cloves. I did add a little allspice and two peppers from my garden. MMMM....
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2013
Easy and tasty! Added corn instead of hominy. Put 2 bay leaves in because I saw other comments. Thanks!!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 24, 2013
I pureed the squash and white beans. Delish! My husband ate all the leftovers before I could get any!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 23, 2013
I think next time I will do it in the crockpot, I let it simmer for more than 30 minutes and the butternut squash was still too firm. Oh and I have no idea what white hominy is so we didnt use it, I added garbonzo beans though. Also apparently when making my grocery list I over looked the can of tomato sauce but Im glad I did because I think it would have been too runny. Other than that it was good.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Lodi, California, USA
Living In: Sacramento, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 12, 2013
This recipe was delicious quite possibly the best we have ever eaten. I used 2 cans of canned chicken I drained one instead of using turkey or adding other broth. I also had to use corn instead of hominy. I didn't use an onion but I used onion soup mix instead. The squash I used was left over from the roasted butternut squash recipe also on All Recipes. My canned diced tomatoes had rosemary and oregano in them and my sauce had green chilies in it. Next time I will not use garlic salt but will probably use garlic powder instead because my version was a bit salty, but I also had salt and pepper on the butternut squash already plus the soup mix added saltiness. I didn't add any more green chilies. My son and I are dieting and a 10th of this (252 grams) figures out to be around 218 calories made the way I did it. It was sooo yummy and tasty for "diet" food.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 4, 2013
made it last night for the family and the missionary's, we all loved it very much.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Glen Foulk

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Phoenix, Arizona, USA
Living In: Goodyear, Arizona, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 2, 2013
Great way to use our freshly harvested butternut squash. I served with sour cream. I could see adding a cup of cooked small shell pasta to the mix to give it a bit more body. Nice Fall dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by krsms

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 1, 2013
I thought this chili was okay, but I liked it more the next day once it thickened. I even added another can of diced tomatoes to it the next day. However, what I didn't care for was the butternut squash in it. I found it to be too sweet. The texture of the pieces varies between cooked just right to too mushy. I would not add this vegetable to chili again. The green chilis were also kind of hot the first day, but mellowed out in flavor over-night. It was good with some cheese on top for lunch.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Holiday Baker

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Detroit, Michigan, USA
Living In: Richmond, Virginia, USA
Reviewed: Sep. 29, 2013
My husband LOVES this recipe. I made it as suggested but I used fresh corn off the cob instead of hominy. I will be making this again and again.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tay

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 31-40 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States