Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
This was really great, I used 2 Jalapenos instead of green chillies because I like them, used tomato paste and the extra chicken broth. Steamed the butternut by cutting in half laying in a 9X13 pan with a little water and cooking in micro for about 10 min, pierce the skins before cooking, scooping out that mixture and adding to the chili. it was very good and even better the next day. My daughter said she would of made it hotter, however she has a two year old and I was keeping her in my mind when making this. Very healthy and tasty.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 30, 2009
I usually don't like to substitute turkey for ground beef but I really liked this! The only changes I made were based on some of the reviews I read. I added 1 can of tomato paste instead of the tomato sauce and I cut back on the cumin. Some reviews said it it did not thicken but I thought mine came out thick which may have been because of the tomato paste. Thanks for the great recipe.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Judy F

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Bloomingdale, New Jersey, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
This is a very mild chili, not what I expected. Followed the recipe pretty closely. My first taste was that hominy, which I do like, was overwhelming in this case. Tweaked liberally: doubled the chili powder, added two McCormick large beef bouillon cubes (turkey is mild), a good shot of lemon juice, a small tomato paste with water, and thus powered it up close to what I consider chili (personal preference). A hint: The butternut can be partially cooked in the microwave, then seeded and scooped out with a melon-ball cutter. Nice alternative. Canned chilies, expensive, can be replaced with about 1/2 of a pickled or fresh jalapeno. Finally, the sour cream and tostados really made this a nice dish.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Capt.Quent

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Sidney, Iowa, USA
Living In: Raleigh, North Carolina, USA
Reviewed: Oct. 29, 2009
I was wondering if anyone took a short cut and used a can of Hormel Turkey Chili and added it after cooking the squash and adding any other veggies. Hormel Turkey Chili has a lot of flavor and you can save time by not having to chop all the other stuff and by not having to cook the turkey meat.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 18, 2009
Used Great Northern beans instead of hominy, and also chopped up a bunch of bell peppers that needed to be used up and included those. Delicious seasonal meal!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tara

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Albany, New York, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 13, 2009
This was yummy. The only changes I made were to add in some shredded zucchini to bulk it up and to use black beans. I may have also added mor broth.. didn't measure that. This was a very mild chili to me, which is what I was looking for. If you are looking for soemthing with a bite, use hotter peppers and some more seasonings.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
18 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by LindaT

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: San Jose, California, USA
Photo by CookinBug
Reviewed: Oct. 9, 2009
Excellent. The only changes I made were to use corn instead of hominy, just because that's what I had on hand, and I added some oregano. Great flavor, we really enjoyed it. Thank you! :)
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
58 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by CookinBug
Home Town: Ithaca, Michigan, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 20, 2009
Easy to make and really good. This recipe lends it self to many subsitutions depending on what you have at home. I made a big pot and will take to work for lunch next week.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Sep. 10, 2009
Very good chili, and pretty healthy too. I happened to have most of the ingredients on hand, so that was nice. I omitted hominy, but added some corn I cut off the cob. YUMMY. Will make again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
3 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Living In: Poway, California, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Jul. 22, 2009
Loved the chili! Used black beans and ground chicken instead of turkey and it turned out great.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 178) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Speedy Weeknight Meals
Speedy Weeknight Meals

We’ll help you get dinner on the table in no time flat.

Back-to-School Eats
Back-to-School Eats

Get recipes that work for your busiest days.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and helpful cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for just $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States