Butternut Squash and Turkey Chili Recipe Reviews - Allrecipes.com (Pg. 16)
Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was a great recipe. Easy to make and the ingredients aren't expensive! I used frozen diced butternut squash and added some cilantro and shredded mexican blend cheese. I will definitely make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 4, 2009
This was great chili. I'm not a huge chili fan and neither is my youngest son, but this went over great. The only thing I did different was add 2 cups of water instead of the 1/2 cup (totally by accident, but worked out good). Everyone in the house loved it and wants me to make it more often! Great Job.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

Home Town: Westminster, Colorado, USA
Living In: Palisade, Colorado, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
My husband was skeptical, but he enjoyed it and ate two bowls! I don't know my squashes and bought acorn squash instead of butternut. One lb was half an acorn squash. I chopped it a little smaller than 1 inch and am glad I did as the squash didn't cook down as much as I expected. Forgot to buy hominy. I've never used it & the chili was great without, so think I'll skip it in the future. The only other changes were a third clove of garlic and a tsp of salt instead of garlic salt. Also, I used a can of tomato paste instead of sauce, drained the beans, and upped the chicken broth to 1 cup. Be sure to add the whole Tbsp of cumin and cook at least a half hour for the flavors to meld and the squash to cook completely. The squash and seasonings meld to make a slightly sweet, savory flavor. Excellent and healthy. I'll make this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Expert

Home Town: Johnstown, Pennsylvania, USA
Reviewed: Nov. 3, 2009
This was very, very good. I served it at a football gathering as a healthier alternative to the regular chili - those who chose it, loved it! I made a couple small tweeks to make it more picky teen friendly - After the browning of the turkey, I added just the spices (including the addition of 1/2 T allspice) and simmered for maybe 5-10 minutes, this made the turkey meat look like ground beef. I also chopped the butternut into more like 1/2 - 3/4 inch chunks. Very good!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Home Town: Carthage, Illinois, USA
Living In: Edina, Minnesota, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 2, 2009
fantastic
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
1 user found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Jerry Haas

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
I really liked this recipe. It has a lot of depth and the surprising sweetness of bites of the squash are wonderful. My modifications were small- I added a handful each of frozen corn and spinach and used Lawry's seasoning salt instead of garlic salt. I nixed the chiles because I wasn't in the mood for spice. A dollop of plain greek yogurt at on top was perfect. Thanks for posting!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
Delicious recipe. I thought it was very flavorful, and mild enough for my children to enjoy. I did simmer higher and for longer than the recipe called for because it was a bit soupy and I like my chili thick. Worked perfectly...Will definitelymake this a regular!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This recipe is a winner as it is. All the original recipe was followed to the letter. In addition, however, I added two (2) medium ORANGE tomatoes, medium dice, 12 oz. of CUBED turkey chunks (in addition to the ground already in the recipe), one (1) red bell pepper, medium diced, 1 TBS. brown sugar, 1 EXTRA TBS. of chili powder and lastly, I added some dry, ground ancho chile and cayenne powder to get a bit of heat - also some ground black pepper to taste. AWESOME!! The orange tomatoes and red bell pepper helped add that autumn / Halloween look with their colors as well as great flavor. This made for some very, very good chili that was already gone in less than 2 days. I am making another batch tonight - I love the hominy idea, so will likely add another can of that too. You've got to try this recipe - you won't be sorry.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Tony V.

Cooking Level: Expert

Living In: Kansas City, Missouri, USA

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Nov. 1, 2009
This was delicious! Honestly I couldn't believe how good it was. The butternut squash gives it a fall twist and wonderful flavor. I will be making this again!
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
2 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Photo by Orchid_Bri

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog

Reviewed: Oct. 31, 2009
This is definitely the best chili recipe I've tried. Lots of flavor and healthy too. I followed the recipe to a tee and added some additional seasoning (garlic powder, seasoned salt). I made this with some cornbread and had a delicious dinner w/my boyfriend. You also get a ton of chili out of this--we're freezing a batch to save for a quick dinner later.
Was this review helpful? [ YES ]
0 users found this review helpful

Reviewer:

Cooking Level: Intermediate

My Profile | Cooks I Like
Reviews | Photos | Recipes | Menus | Blog


Displaying results 151-160 (of 190) reviews

 
ADVERTISEMENT
Go Pro!

In Season

Muffins Are Perfect Anytime
Muffins Are Perfect Anytime

Muffins are great for breakfast, with coffee, or just as a snack on the go.

Soup For What Ails You
Soup For What Ails You

Soup is what the doctor ordered to cure those winter blahs.

Subscribe Today! Only $7.99
Subscribe Today! Only $7.99

Delicious recipes, party ideas, and cooking tips! Get a year of Allrecipes magazine for $7.99!

Related Videos

Terrific Turkey Chili

Combining fresh and canned ingredients make creating this chili a snap.

Smokin’ Scovilles Turkey Chili

See how to make super-spicy turkey chili with kidney beans.

Glazed Butternut Squash

Learn how to make maple syrup- and dark rum-glazed butternut squash.

Recently Viewed Recipes

You haven't looked at any recipes lately. Get clicking!
Quick Links: Recipe Box | Shopping List | More »
 
Argentina  |  Australia & New Zealand  |  Brazil  |  Canada  |  China  |  France  |  Germany  |  India  |  Italy  |  Japan  |  Korea  |  Mexico

Netherlands  |  Poland  |  Quebec  |  Russia  |  SE Asia  |  United Kingdom & Ireland  |  United States